• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

 

Anna Sokolova

Received three degrees from the Higher School of Economics – a bachelor’s in 2009, a master’s in 2011, and a PhD in 2015. Between 2010 and 2015, Sokolova taught classes in the HSE Faculty of Economic Sciences while simultaneously conducting research within the Laboratory for Macroeconomic Analysis. She has also worked abroad, completing an internship in France in 2013 and carrying out a research project and internships at the University of California, Berkeley, Charles University in Prague, and the Higher School of Economics (Faculty of Economic Sciences) in 2016 and 2017. Sokolova is the author of six articles and has participated in a number of academic conferences, including MAER-Net 2016; the XXIV International Conference on Money, Banking and Finance; the 18th International Conference on Macroeconomic Analysis and International Finance; and others. Students from the Faculty of Economic Sciences also selected her for the Best Teacher Award in 2015.

   How One PhD Graduate Became an Assistant Professor at a University Abroad

Success Builder


About the project
«Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

Anna Sokolova, who completed her PhD at the HSE Doctoral School of Economics and is an instructor in the Department of Theoretical Economics, has been offered a position as an Assistant Professor at the University of Nevada, Reno, demonstrating the high demand for graduates of HSE doctoral programmes on the international academic job market.

When did you know you wanted to pursue a career in academia? How is your experience with being offered a teaching position abroad unique?

Overall, I’ve always wanted to work on independent research, and my parents encouraged this. My father, Valery Sokolov, is a physics professor and my mother, Evgeniya Sokolova, has a degree in engineering.

I’ve known I was particularly interested in macroeconomics since I was an undergraduate student. I didn’t quite get what academic work truly entailed at the time though. This understanding came later, around the time of my master’s programme, and it was mostly thanks to talking with my academic supervisor and my colleagues who focused on macroeconomics. I then decided I needed to further my education, and I decided to do this in Russia, in a full-time advanced doctoral programme at HSE, for a number of reasons. In 2015 – again, thanks to the targeted efforts (and angel-like patience!) of my professor and academic supervisor Sergey Pekarski – I completed my doctoral programme and defended my dissertation, and I needed to decide what to do next. So I thought I would try my luck on the international job market. My experience is somewhat different from standard practice because Russian PhD graduates do not typically enter this job market right after defending their dissertation.

For an academic, what is the hardest part of finding a job on the international market?

I have to clarify that I’m talking about the market for economists who have completed graduate school and hold a doctorate degree. In the West, this is called a PhD, while in Russia we call it a ‘candidate of sciences.’ From a formal point of view, they both allow you to work as an Assistant Professor. What’s most difficult about finding a job abroad is not that the candidate of sciences degree somehow differs from a PhD; they essentially mean the same thing, namely, that you did well in graduate school. You don’t have to do anything else to confirm that they are equal.

What’s most difficult is that when you get a PhD from a university whose graduates have never really gotten a job on the international market before (or their job history has not been very successful), then a potential employer faces uncertainty since it is difficult for him or her to judge the quality of the doctoral programme you completed. This is a problem for universities in other countries as well. In order to compensate for this, you need good letters of recommendation. The standard requirement is three letters, but in my case I needed four – one from my professor and academic supervisor (Sergey Pekarsky), as well as one each from my three co-authors (ICEF Professor Udara Peiris, University of Oxford Professor Dimitrios Tsomocos, and Advisor to the Czech National Bank’s Board of Directors Tomáš Havránek). In addition, you need a good job market paper, which is an article that a potential employer can use to evaluate a candidate’s research potential, specialisation, and skills. In my case, my job market paper was the one I wrote with professors Peiris and Tsomocos, "Capital Flows, Default, and Renegotiation in a Small Open Economy".

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

What kind of experience are you taking abroad? What did you achieve here in Russia, and why did you decide to work there?

When I was getting my master’s I started conducting seminars in the Faculty of Economics, and I continued doing this in my PhD programme. In addition, I conducted research, which I believe played an important role in my finding a job abroad. I was lucky – when I was a master’s student I found myself in a friendly and stimulating environment within the research laboratory for macroeconomic analysis, where I continue to work under the leadership of Sergey Merzlyakov, the head of the lab. Currently, I’m particularly interested in two fields of research – capital flows between countries under the risk of default (this is what my dissertation and job market paper were on) and meta-analysis in consumption theory. When I was in graduate school, I also completed an internship at ENS Cachan in France under the direction of Professor Hubert Kempf, and at the end of last year I did an internship at the University of California, Berkeley, under Dmitry Livdan.

There are several reasons I accepted an offer to work at an American university, one of which was to gain new experience that, I hope, will serve as the catalyst to my future academic development. At western universities, it is normal for someone to enter the international job market right after the dissertation defence, while it is more of an exception than a rule for a graduate to stay and work at their alma mater. This isn’t the case here in Russia, but there are objective reasons for this. Our universities are not that quick to exchange graduates, and there are therefore fewer options for HSE graduates who want to stay in Russia.

How does HSE help its students and teachers integrate into the international community? What was your experience?

HSE really wants its PhD graduates to enter the international market. My own experience is evidence of that. I was able to get to where I am now thanks to the active involvement of my professors from HSE, in particular my academic supervisor Sergey Pekarsky and ICEF professors Udara Peiris and Alexei Boulatov, who all played a key role in helping and supporting me. Without them, nothing would have happened. It is thanks to them that I was able to pick an academic programme, learn my way around the job market, understand what potential employers wanted, significantly improve the quality of my research, and find my invaluable internship experience in California.

The inspiration for my idea to look for work abroad came from the dean of the Faculty of Economic Sciences, Oleg Zamulin, who along with the head of the advanced doctoral programme Anton Suvorov and Professor Konstantin Sonin helped me at all stages of the process. It is extremely important for a professional macroeconomist to be able to properly present his or her own research. I worked on this skill during seminars in the doctoral programme and at NUL macroeconomic analysis seminars (led by Sergey Merzlyakov). The feedback I received from Anton Suvorov, Sergei Popov, and my colleagues from the department for theoretical economics really helped me develop this skill as well.

In total, I had 11 interviews with universities, central banks, and one research centre, and several of them invited me to visit their campuses

During my time in the PhD programme, I was able to participate in a large number of international academic events, conferences, and summer schools, and the Faculty of Economic Sciences always provided me with financial support. This experience was irreplaceable. At one of the conferences I met my Czech co-author Tomáš Havránek, with whom I’ve been working on a number of joint projects. But without the support of the HSE economics faculty, our meeting simply would have never taken place. Professors Dimitrios Tsomocos and Dmitry Livdan, who visit ICEF often, also helped me quite a bit.

I’ll also add that when future graduates of our doctoral programme want to find a job, I’d be happy to share my experience and help with what I can.

What kind of internet resources are out there for finding a job in the academic world?

The main resources are Job Openings for Economists, Economics Job Market, INOMICS, and SSRN. There are also resources to find jobs in a particular country, for example Jobs.ac in Great Britain.

How many universities responded to your resume, what were their offers, and why did you chose Nevada?

In total, I had 11 interviews with universities, central banks, and one research centre, and several of them invited me to visit their campuses. Aside from Nevada, I also received a few offers from European schools. I liked all of the offers, but Nevada seemed like the best option for me. I really like research, and my future colleagues in Nevada value that above all else.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

As for pedagogical activities, is it easy for a researcher to teach?

I think that completely depends on one’s individual predisposition. Teaching isn’t that difficult for me personally, but some of my colleagues in the department are much more talented than I am in this area.

How will you continue on with your research, and what kind of opportunities will you have in Nevada?

I am currently working on several projects, and now that the job-hunting process is finally over, I am planning on focussing all of my efforts on this work. My main research consists of a project with professors Udara Peiris and Dimitrios Tsomocos on capital flows and defaults, as well as a project with professor Tomáš Havránek that concerns a meta-analysis on consumption theory and rational and irrational economic agents. I really love working with them all, and since their academic experience significantly surpasses mine, I try to learn from them as much as I can.

Other ‘Success Builder’ Stories

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

 

Анна Соколова

В 2009 году окончила бакалавриат НИУ ВШЭ, в 2011 году – магистратуру, а в 2015 получила степень кандидата наук в НИУ ВШЭ. С 2010 по 2015 годы вела занятия на факультете экономических наук НИУ ВШЭ, параллельно вела исследовательскую работу в Лаборатории макроэкономического анализа. В 2013 году стажировалась во Франции. В 2016-2017 годах занималась исследовательской работой и проходила стажировку в Калифорнийском университете в Беркли, Карловом Университете (Прага) и в НИУ ВШЭ на факультете экономических наук. Автор шести научных работ, участница конференций MAER-Net 2016, XXIV International Conference on Money, Banking and Finance, 18th International Conference on Macroeconomic Analysis and International Finance и других. В 2015 году студенты факультета экономических наук выбрали ее «Лучшим преподавателем».

   Как выпускнику аспирантуры стать доцентом зарубежного университета: личный опыт

Конструктор успеха


О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

Выпускница Аспирантской школы ВШЭ по экономике, преподаватель Департамента теоретической экономики Анна Соколова получила приглашение от Университета Невады в Рино (США) на должность Assistant Professor, доказав востребованность выпускников аспирантуры ВШЭ на международном академическом рынке труда.

Когда вы поняли, что делаете академическую карьеру? В чем уникальность вашего случая с получение должности в зарубежном университете?

В принципе мне всегда хотелось заниматься независимой исследовательской работой, и это мое желание поощряли мои родители, мой отец профессор физики Валерий Соколов и моя мать Евгения Соколова с высшим инженерным образованием.

Мне стало понятно, что мне интересно заниматься именно макроэкономикой, в бакалавриате. Тогда, правда, я не очень хорошо себе представляла, как устроена академическая работа. Ясность начала появляться ближе к магистратуре, в основном благодаря общению с моим научным руководителем и коллегами-макроэкономистами. Тогда же я решила, что образование нужно продолжать. По ряду причин я решила продолжать его в России, в рамках академической аспирантуры Вышки. В 2015 году, опять-таки, благодаря целенаправленным усилиям (и ангельскому терпению!) моего научного руководителя профессора Сергея Пекарского я закончила аспирантуру и защитилась, и нужно было снова выбирать, что делать дальше. На этот раз я решила попробовать свои силы на международном рынке труда. Мой случай несколько отличается от стандартной практики, потому что, как правило, свежезащитившиеся выпускники Российских аспирантур на этот рынок не выходят.

В чем главная сложность трудоустройства для ученого на международном уровне?

Здесь нужно пояснить, что в данном случае речь идет о рынке для экономистов, закончивших аспирантуру и получивших степень, относящуюся к категории «doctorate degree». На западе эту степень называют PhD, у нас — степень кандидата наук, с формальной точки зрения обе они дают право претендовать на академическую должность «assistant professor». Главная сложность с трудоустройством не в том, что степень кандидата как-то формально отличается от PhD: по сути они обозначают одно и то же, а именно — успешный результат обучения в аспирантуре. Дополнительно подтверждать её не нужно.

Проблема в другом: когда степень присуждается вузом, выпускники которого до этого не трудоустраивались через международный рынок труда (или история их трудоустройства не очень успешна), то потенциальный работодатель сталкивается с неопределенностью, т.к. ему сложно судить о качестве программы. Это проблема не только российских университетов. Чтобы компенсировать этот недостаток, нужны хорошие рекомендательные письма. Как правило, требуется три письма, но в моем случае их было четыре: от моего научного руководителя профессора Сергея Пекарского и моих соавторов — профессора МИЭФ Удары Пейриса, профессора Оксфорда Димитриоса Цомокоса и советника при совете директоров Чешского Национального Банка, профессора Томаса Хавранека. Кроме того, нужна хорошая «job market paper» — статья, по которой потенциальный работодатель может судить об исследовательском потенциале кандидата, его специализации и навыках. В моем случае в роли такой статьи выступила моя совместная работа с профессорами Пейрисом и Цомокосом ("Capital Flows, Default, and Renegotiation in a Small Open Economy").

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

С каким опытом подошли к этому рубежу? Чего добились на родине и почему решили работать там?

Во время обучения в магистратуре я начала вести семинары на факультете экономики, и продолжала это делать, будучи аспирантом. Кроме того, я занимаюсь научной работой, и именно она, как мне кажется, сыграла решающую роль в моем трудоустройстве. Тут мне повезло: еще в магистратуре я попала в дружескую и стимулирующую среду научно-учебной лаборатории макроэкономического анализа, где я и работаю до сих пор под чутким руководством заведующего Сергея Мерзлякова. В данный момент меня особенно интересуют две области исследований: потоки капитала между странами в условиях рисков дефолта (это тема моей диссертации и job market paper) и мета-анализ в теории потребления. Во время учебы в аспирантуре я также прошла стажировку в ENS Cachan во Франции под руководством профессора Юбера Кемпфа, а в конце прошлого года — в Калифорнийском университете в Беркли под руководством профессора Дмитрия Ливдана.

У моего решения принять предложение работы в американском университете есть несколько причин, одна из которых — приобретение нового опыта, который, надеюсь, выступит катализатором моего дальнейшего академического развития. В западных университетах выход на международный рынок труда после защиты считается нормой, а ситуация, когда выпускник остается работать в alma mater — скорее исключение, чем правило. У нас это не так, но тут есть объективные причины: наши университеты не так активно обмениваются выпускниками и, следовательно, опций у выпускников Вышки, желающих остаться в России, меньше.

Как Вышка способствует интеграции своих ученых в международное сообщество? Как было у вас?

Вышка, безусловно, заинтересована в том, чтобы выпускники аспирантуры выходили на международный рынок. Об этом свидетельствует мой собственный опыт: мое успешное прохождение рынка труда стало возможным благодаря активному участию со стороны профессоров Вышки. Решающую роль сыграли помощь и поддержка моего научного руководителя профессора Сергея Пекарского и профессоров МИЭФ Удары Пейриса и Алексея Булатова. Без них ничего бы не получилось. Благодаря им я смогла определиться с научной программой, сориентироваться на рынке труда, понять, чего хотят потенциальные работодатели, значительно улучшить качество моей исследовательской работы, получить ценный опыт стажировки в Калифорнии.

Вдохновителем идеи моего выхода на международный рынок труда был декан факультета экономических наук Олег Замулин, который помогал мне на всех этапах процесса вместе с руководителем академической аспирантуры Антоном Суворовым и профессором Константином Сониным. Для профессионального макроэкономиста чрезвычайно важно уметь достойно презентовать собственные исследования. Над своим навыком презентации я работала в формате семинаров академической аспирантуры и семинаров НУЛ макроэкономического анализа (под руководством Сергея Мерзлякова), и комментарии Антона Суворова, Сергея Попова, а также коллег-макроэкономистов из департамента теоретической экономики мне помогли его развить.

В общей сложности у меня было 11 интервью, с университетами, центральными банками и одним исследовательским центром, часть из них прислали мне приглашения посетить их кампусы

Во время моего обучения в аспирантуре мне удалось поучаствовать в большом количестве международных научных мероприятий, конференций и летних школ, и факультет экономических наук неизменно оказывал мне финансовую поддержку. Этот опыт оказался незаменимым: на одной из таких конференций я познакомилась с моим чешским соавтором Томасом Хавранеком, с которым мы работаем над совместными проектами. Однако без поддержки факультета экономики наша встреча бы просто не состоялась. Мне также очень помогли профессора Димитриос Цомокос и Дмитрий Ливдан, которые часто приезжают в МИЭФ.

Прибавлю к этому, что когда будущие выпускники нашей аспирантуры захотят выйти на этот рынок, я с радостью поделюсь своим опытом и постараюсь помочь.

Какие существуют интернет-ресурсы для поиска работы в академическом сообществе?

Основные ресурсы — это  Job Openings for EconomistsEconomics Job Market, INOMICS, SSRN. Также есть ресурсы для поиска работы в отдельных странах — например Jobs.ac для Великобритании.

Сколько университетов откликнулось на ваше резюме, что предлагали, почему вы выбрали Неваду?

В общей сложности у меня было 11 интервью, с университетами, центральными банками и одним исследовательским центром, часть из них прислали мне приглашения посетить их кампусы. В итоге помимо предложения из Невады мне также поступило несколько предложений из Европы. Все предложения мне понравились, однако работа в Неваде мне показалось наиболее удачным выбором именно для меня: мне очень нравится исследовательская работа, и именно ее больше всего ценят мои будущие коллеги.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Если говорить о педагогической деятельности, просто ли ученым преподавать?

Мне кажется, это целиком определяется индивидуальной предрасположенностью. Мне, например, преподавание дается не очень тяжело, но в моем департаменте есть коллеги, которые, как мне кажется, значительно более талантливы в этой области.

Как вы продолжите исследовательскую работу, какие у вас там возможности?

В данный момент я работаю над несколькими проектами, и, теперь, когда процесс поиска работы наконец завершен, я планирую сосредоточить все усилия на этой работе. Мои основные два проекта это совместная работа с профессорами Ударой Пейрисом и Димитриосом Цомокосом (про потоки капитала и дефолты) и работа с профессором Томасом Хавранеком (про мета-анализ в теории потребления, рациональных и нерациональных экономических агентов). Работа с моими соавторами мне безумно нравится, и поскольку их опыт академической работы значительно превышает мой, я стараюсь у них учиться.

Все материалы рубрики