• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
visionusersearch

 

Alexey Rolich

After finishing his undergraduate degree with honours from the Higher School of Economics in 2013, Rolich received his master’s from the Moscow Institute of Electronics and Mathematics (MIEM) in 2015 and became a post-graduate student at the institute the same year.

He received a Russian Presidential Scholarship in 2014, and in 2015 was awarded a scholarship from the Vladimir Potanin Foundation. Rolich has won seven grants and has over 18 certificates from various exhibitions and competitions. He teaches in MIEM laboratories, is the head of the 3D Visualization Laboratory and is the founder of the Public Charger project.

«It’s obvious a scientist can make money in the sphere of innovations»

Success Builder


About the project
«Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

Science had already moved into the sphere of consumption in the 20th century, and we now treat technological innovation as if it’s simply a new item on a restaurant menu or the premier of the latest blockbuster film. Science works for everyone personally, and this ‘scientific marketing’ is the merit of new-era scientists – the ‘Steve Jobses’ who are capable of not only inventing, but also selling their inventions. Alexey Rolich, who is a graduate of HSE MIEM, the head of the 3D Visualization Laboratory, and the creator of the Public Charger project, which has received an UMNIK grant, tells Success Builder how to make money in science.

How did your scientific career begin?

I got involved with science rather late – in my fifth year at MIEM. At the time, I was working on something that ended up turning into a fully-fledged scientific project. But working quietly and just for yourself isn’t really my thing, and I went to the Open Innovations forum to present one of my project outlines. I had to present in front of serious people like Chubais, which boosted my confidence and gave me the desire to be convincing. A lot of engineers have problems talking to people; they’re introverts, spherical horses in a vacuum as we say, who do things for themselves to grow and cultivate their skills, but are unable to talk about these things, let alone sell their ideas.

There’s a stereotype that engineers are intelligent sociophobes who like mountains. Is that true?

It depends on the profession. The thing is, it’s the engineer’s job to work not only with their head, but also with their hands. With this applied experience, it’s hard for engineers to pass the philosophy section of post-graduate entrance exams. Philosophy runs counter to the engineer’s practical perception of reality. This is why engineers might not have a lot of experience with emotional or social activities. This holds true for a lot of scientists too. But I think that we need to break away from this stereotype. The engineer needs to be able to do more than just solder metal or write programmes. The engineer must above all be erudite. They need to have some knowledge of philosophy, history, economics, and sociology in order to understand how ethical their developments are. And this is arguably one of the most important things in modern-day science.

So if someone invents something, how can you envision the project in the future and paint a picture of how it might be sold?

It’s necessary to read about economics, especially about business modelling. My understanding of the applied side of things comes from observation – from seeing colleagues’ projects and trying to apply them to my own situation. I also talked to older people with more experience. At the same time, I tried to learn more about economics, management, marketing, etc., and I fortunately found support at HSE. Master’s students from the Economics Faculty wrote me and suggested using my financial metric for their thesis work. It was great. The more people – sociologists, economists, entrepreneurs – who contribute their ideas to a project, the less likely you are to fail in presentation.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

Was the Public Charger project initially envisioned as a way of receiving a grant?

It was a coincidence. I started going everywhere, making suggestions, and I started creating the Public Charger ‘brand.’ Everyone would smile when I’d start telling the story from a technical standpoint before finishing with everyday terminology like an urban activist. It turned out that this is a good way of getting the public interested. Even if your project or presentation format brings about a mixed reaction, any type of emotion and its commercialization is considered 21st century marketing.

 

20 000

is the monthly stipend students receive under the Russian Presidential Scholarship. The scholarship is paid to students under the age of 35 for a period of three years.

Source

 

How does one train for academic competitions?

When you’re developing something, you really want to implement it, and these kinds of events are a way of doing that. My first successful competition was for the UMNIK grant from the Foundation for Assistance to Small Innovative Enterprises. The grant was for the Public Charger project [the project allows you to charge your iPhone or laptop in locations such as subway stations and other means of public transport]. But you have to prove that you want to do something important, and this requires you to prepare for a competition using a special methodology. The whole laboratory helped one another prepare; we would look at the projects we had, make selections, deal with financial issues in implementation, and figure out how to sell the product. By the way, I wasn’t successful my first time, but this didn’t get me down. It just prepared me for the next competition. It was really interesting to look at others’ projects – projects created by scientists ranging from doctors and chemists to IT experts – and to see expert evaluations of the projects. To a certain extent, you yourself become an expert and you see the problem areas in the cases, which is why it’s necessary to look for opportunities like this, be it a competition or an exhibition. This is a way of interacting with the sphere of innovations, and it brings together the resulting opinions and ideas.

Can you talk about the non-project or competition side of things? What else makes a young scientist’s job interesting?

When I was just starting out at MIEM, a representative of MIEM Profkom said to me: ‘Rolich, you’re everywhere.’ And I really am everywhere. If I weren’t everywhere, I’d be nowhere. If you want to achieve something, you have to be everywhere at once. Working, not getting enough sleep, forgetting about yourself, sometimes refusing to relax… This is how I’m simultaneously involved in different projects, along with lab work, management, marketing, academics, and my work with a group of students. I got a lot of what I teach students in the 3D laboratory from my own experience. We have interdisciplinary projects that can kill two birds with one stone, so to speak: you get credit, earn an additional stipend, put yourself out there as an academic, build up your portfolio, or create your own business.

My academic advisor Leonid Voskov and his first students Mikhail Komarov and Sergey Efremov founded the laboratory that we all came from – the WiSeNet Lab Laboratory for Innovative Projects. We created projects in the field of virtual reality, smart energy, wireless sensor networks, and the Internet of Things (IoT), which is a network of physical objects, dubbed ‘things,’ that are embedded with electronics, sensors, networks, etc., thereby allowing the physical objects to gather and exchange data.


Photo: Mikhail Dmitriev

An important question: how can you make money in science? A lot of people are scared of science solely because scientists typically don’t make a lot, which turns young people away.

That’s a myth that some want to believe. If you look at the innovative spheres of science, it becomes obvious that you can make money here. There’s a large difference in salary when you look at people who are locked away in a laboratory with test tubes versus those who work in a defence enterprise. There are also people who try to sell their good ideas because now really is a good time to contribute to science, and the word ‘startup’ has become synonymous with fairy-tale ventures. Even the government is now open to working with innovators.

In what way?

Through grants. Now, money is regularly allocated for certain developments, and not only military ones. Scientists are able to realize their curiosity on the government’s dime. And the state of the infrastructure of the innovative sphere in our country is not yet ideal, but the doors of the government are open for ideas if only you knock loud enough.

How loudly?

Bureaucracy forces you to be particularly pushy. You can’t just, say, go to the ministry of transport and say, ‘I have a cool idea that you desperately need.’ You have to write a dozen letters that will go ignored, and then you have to write another twenty, maybe one of which, by some miracle, someone will read. Then you have to find the people who will somewhat understand, and so on. But you can understand the ministries – they get tons of requests every day, sometimes not the most appropriate ones, and you might get lost in the spam folder. This means you have to stand out. You have to write the right letters and not get lazy, like me. I could be doing more for the innovations market, which would allow you to charge your iPhone on suburban trains as well.

Next year I’m supposed to create my own company, bring chargers to market, create jobs, etc. This is what the grant makes possible

Are there any obvious trends on the innovations market?

There is an obvious trend in the Internet of Things and useful gadgets such as fitness bracelets. Also virtual reality, augmented reality, multi-touch interaction, and robots, without which we’d get nowhere.

But the coolest things occur at the interface of various scientific areas. There’s medicine and informatics, which makes bioinformatics. That’s great! No one ever thought that 3D printers could print prosthetic bones and organs. There’s smart energy, which is critical, especially since the consumption of gadgets rises every day, and they will soon total 50 billion. In 20 years, all the world’s power plants will go towards gadgets if nothing is done.

In the laboratory, you’re making developments in the sphere of 3D visualisation. What achievements and discoveries have you been able to make?

The students created an interesting multi-touch table where several people at once can use their fingers to draw, and we’re currently developing a holographic imagery system on it. At this table, we’ll be able to see a hologram through a special optical system.

Wow, it sounds like something from the inside of a spaceship in a Hollywood movie…

It’s not that technical, but in the air you’ll be able to see files and objects by creating the necessary light. Of course, you won’t be able to use your fingers to stretch the screen, but work is underway in this area, and we already know how to do it.

We are also working on various types of 3D helmets with built-in audio systems, as well as on a project for students to attend 3D physics lectures.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

We tried working with stereo imagery, which allows you to look at a photograph from a different perspective. Recently at a photography exhibition by Sergei Chelnokov at the Museum of Moscow, we created an information space of sorts out of stereograms. You could go there and see the photos in 3D, and also look at each subject in the picture. An entire story is formulated from details that can be studied from a cultural, philosophical, and artistic perspective.

We also have a glove with built-in vibration motors. When you touch a virtual object, your fingers feel a vibration, so you can even feel the virtual object in reality. There are some modelling issues with this, though, and it’s necessary to draw ‘reality’ itself as qualitatively as possible. Modelling reality could be in high demand in the museum world. This concerns online excursions or work with trainers. I have been toying with the idea of a virtual church, as one example.

Oh?

Why not? If a religious person is handicapped, he or she should be able to visit a high-quality church and feel comfortable there.

 

450 000

is how much is awarded under the Russian Foundation for Basic Research grant, which is given to academic projects being carried out by young scientists.

Source

 

It would be great if several people could attend at the same time and if a virtual pastor gave the sermon online. It’s a counter-strike of sorts, only religious.

Of course. But this involves different problems, the unchangeable ethical satellites of science.

What are you planning to do after you finish your post-graduate degree? Can an engineer become, say, the Russian Steve Jobs?

Every scientist who has created an innovative business that people work at is already a Steve Jobs in his or her sphere. Look at graduates of the Start programme. A lot of them have already started their own business. At the onset of their projects, techies or doctors didn’t think they’d become businessmen, but now here they are creating jobs for people. After all, every scientist also has a social responsibility. I, for example, as a participant of the programme, also have to create my own business next year, and before that I have to conduct developmental work, bring the chargers to market, and then create jobs. This is exactly what is made possible by the 2 million-ruble grant I got. As for my future plans after the university, I’ll have to consult my road map. For now, all of my attempts to grow are rather impulsive. Having tried out the various roles, I see myself as having a PhD, teaching, managing, whatever works out. The main thing is not to miss out on opportunities that arise unexpectedly. Scientists don’t wait for a muse.

I would definitely like to work with elementary students. Classes on 3D printing, robotics, and elementary programming are examples of ways to get kids interested, prepare them for technical disciplines, and shake things up a bit on the conservative side of education. This stops a child from entering a technical university without knowing what they’re getting themselves into, which is what happened with me. I did it because I liked playing games.

Other ‘Success Builder’ Stories

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

 

Алексей Ролич

Закончил с отличием НИУ ВШЭ: в 2013 году — специалитет, а в 2015 —магистратуру МИЭМ. С 2015 года — аспирант МИЭМ НИУ ВШЭ.

В 2014 году получил стипендию Президента РФ, в 2015 году стал стипендиатом фонда В. Потанина. Выиграл 7 грантов, имеет более 18 дипломов различных выставок и конкурсов.  Преподает в лабораториях МИЭМ НИУ ВШЭ, руководит Лабораторией 3D-визуализации, является автором проекта «Общественная розетка».

«Очевидно, что в инновационных сферах ученый может заработать»

Конструктор успеха


О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

Наука еще в ХХ веке перешла в сферу потребления, сейчас мы относимся к технологическим новшествам так, будто это новое блюдо в ресторанном меню или премьера блокбастера. Наука работает для каждого лично, и этот «научный маркетинг» — заслуга ученых нового времени, «джобсов», которые умеют не только изобретать, но и продавать свои изобретения. Как можно зарабатывать на науке, в рубрике «Конструктор успеха» рассказал выпускник МИЭМ Алексей Ролич — руководитель лаборатории 3D-визуализации, автор проекта «Общественная розетка», получившего грант конкурса «УМНИК».

С чего началась ваша научная деятельность?

Научную деятельность я начал поздно, только на 5 курсе специалитета в МИЭМ. Тогда я сразу занялся проектом, который складывался во вполне научную работу. Но работать тихо и для себя — не мой случай, и я пошел на форум «Открытые инновации» представить один из своих проектов в набросках. Пришлось выступать перед серьезными людьми, например Чубайсом, и это дало полезный опыт смелости и желание быть убедительным. У многих инженеров есть проблема с «разговорным жанром» — они интроверты, «кони в сферическом вакууме», что-то делают для себя — растут и самосовершенствуются, — но не могут об этом рассказать и тем более продать.

Есть такой стереотип: инженер — это интеллигентный социофоб, который любит горы. Это так?

Это зависит не от профессии. Но дело в том, что задача инженера — работать не только головой, но и руками. Ему с этим прикладным опытом бывает трудно сдать философию на экзаменах в аспирантуру, философия идет вразрез с его практическим восприятием. Поэтому какая-то эмоциональная или социальная активность им не всегда близка. Это касается вообще многих ученых. Но я считаю, нужно уходить от этого стереотипа. Инженер должен уметь не только паять или писать программы, он в первую очередь должен быть эрудитом: знать философию, историю, разбираться в экономике и социологии, чтобы понимать, насколько его разработки этичны — а в нынешней науке это, пожалуй, один из самых важных вопросов.

Допустим, кто-то что-то изобрел, но как увидеть проект в перспективе и понять, как это можно будет продать?

Нужно читать экономическую литературу, и особенно про бизнес-моделирование. У меня понимание прикладной стороны пришло с опытом насмотренности, когда я сталкивался с проектами коллег, пытался примерять их на себя, советовался со старшими. Параллельно я пытался «распахивать» области экономики, менеджмента, маркетинга, но, к счастью, нашел поддержку в Вышке: мне написали магистры с факультета экономики и предложили проработать мой финансовый показатель для своей курсовой. Это классно: чем больше людей — это могут быть социологи, экономисты, предприниматели — вносят свои идеи в работу над проектом, тем меньше вероятность возможных осечек в презентации.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Проект с розетками с самого начала был задуман как возможность получить грант?

Так совпало. Я начал везде ходить, предлагать, начинал создавать «бренд» «Общественная розетка» — все улыбались, когда я начинал рассказ о проекте с технических заумей, а в финале переходил на бытовую терминологию как городской активист. Оказалось, это один из хороших приемов, когда публику можно заинтересовать и расположить. Даже если твой продукт или формат презентации вызывает неоднозначную реакцию, чувства любого рода — это маркетинг XXI века, когда в ходу коммерциализация чувств.

 

20 000

ежемесячно составляет стипендия Президента РФ. Она выплачивается в течение трех лет молодому ученому (его возраст не должен превышать 35 лет).

Источник

 

Каким образом вы тренируетесь для участия в научных конкурсах?

Если ты что-то разрабатываешь, очень хочется это внедрить, и такие мероприятия — канал выхода. Первым моим успешным конкурсом стал «УМНИК» от Фонда содействия развитию малых форм предприятий в научно-технической сфере, где я получил грант за «Общественные розетки» (проект, благодаря которому можно будет заряжать айфон или ноутбук в общественном месте, например в транспорте или на станциях метро — прим.). Но свое желание сделать что-то важное нужно еще доказать и готовиться к конкурсу по специальной методике. Мы всей лабораторией помогали друг другу в подготовке, рассматривали проекты, которые у нас накопились, выбирали, разбирались в экономических вопросах реализации и в том, как это можно продать. Кстати, первый раз я с успехом провалился, что меня не расстроило, а подготовило к следующему визиту. Было очень интересно смотреть на чужие проекты — медиков, химиков, IT-шников — и на то, как их оценивают эксперты. В какой-то мере ты сам становишься экспертом и видишь проблемные места в кейсах, поэтому и нужно искать такие возможности, как конкурс или выставка. Это опыт взаимодействия с инновационной сферой, сбор мнений и идей, которые рождаются из других идей.

Расскажите о стороне не проектно-конкурсной — чем еще могут быть интересны будни молодого ученого?

Когда я только начинал работу в МИЭМ, председатель нашего Профкома МИЭМ сказала: «Ролич, ты везде». Я действительно везде, ведь если я не буду везде — то я буду нигде. Если ты хочешь чего-то добиться, надо быть везде. Работать, недосыпать, забывать о себе, подчас отказывать себе в отдыхе. Поэтому я разрываюсь на проекты, работу в лабораториях, менеджмент и маркетинг, работу с коллективом студентов и учебу. Многое из того, чему я учу студентов в 3D-лаборатории, я почерпнул на собственном опыте — мы делаем междисциплинарные проекты, с которыми можно «убить всех зайцев»: получить зачет, заработать дополнительные стипендии, показать себя как ученый, наработать портфолио или создать свой бизнес.

Мой научрук Леонид Сергеевич Восков со своими первыми студентами Комаровым Михайлом Михайловичем и Ефремовым Сергеем Геннадьевичем основал лабораторию, из которой мы все вышли — Лаборатория инновационных проектов Wisenet Lab. Там мы создали проекты по виртуальной реальности, умной энергетике, беспроводным сенсорным сетям и интернету вещей (англ. Internet of Things, IoT) — концепция вычислительной сети физических объектов («вещей»), оснащённых встроенными технологиями для взаимодействия друг с другом или с внешней средой, рассматривающая организацию таких сетей как явление, способное перестроить экономические и общественные процессы, исключающее из части действий и операций необходимость участия человек — Wiki).

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Ключевой вопрос: как можно заработать на науке? Многие боятся науки только потому, что зарплаты ученых — пугало для молодежи.

Это миф, в который некоторым хочется верить. Если смотреть на инновационные сферы науки, становится очевидным, что заработки в этой сфере есть. Между затворничеством с пробирками в лаборатории и работой на оборонном предприятии есть большая разница в зарплате. А еще есть люди, которые стараются продать хорошие идеи, потому что сейчас действительно принято вкладываться в науку, и слово «стартап» стало синонимом сказочных венчуров, даже государство повернулось к инноватором лицом.

Каким образом?

Посредством грантов. Сейчас регулярно выдаются деньги на определенные разработки, и это не только военка. Ученый свое любопытство реализует за госсчет — это и есть наука. А вот состояние инфраструктуры инновационной сферы в нашей стране пока не идеально, но для идей двери государства открываются, если упорно в эти двери стучать.

Насколько упорно?

Бюрократия вынуждает быть особенно назойливым. Ты не можешь просто прийти в министерство, скажем, транспорта и сказать: у меня есть крутая идея, которая вам ужасно нужна. Надо написать десяток писем, которые проигнорируют, потом написать еще двадцать, одно из которых чудом прочтут, потом найти людей, которые хоть чуть-чуть врубятся — и т. д. Можно попытаться понять министерства: за день там происходит тьма обращений, не всегда адекватных, ты можешь затеряться в папке спама. Тут нужно быть заметным, писать правильные письма и не лениться, как я, потому что мог бы сделать больше для рынка инноваций — и вы уже заряжали бы свой айфон в электричках.

Я должен в следующем году создать свое предприятие, вывести розетки на рынок, предоставить рабочие места — на это как раз и дается грант

Есть явные тренды на рынке инноваций?

Явно виден тренд в сфере интернета вещей и полезных гаджетов как фитнес-браслеты. Виртуальная реальность, дополненная реальность, различные системы мультитач-взаимодействия и робототехника, без которой никуда.

Но самые крутые вещи получаются на стыке научных областей. Вот есть медицина, а есть информатика — получается биоинформатика, это здорово! Никто раньше не думал, что на 3D-принтерах можно будет печатать костные протезы и органы. Есть умная энергетика, что очень важно, ведь с каждым днем растет потребление гаджетов, и скоро их количество достигнет 50 млрд. Через 20 лет все электростанции мира будут работать на гаджеты, если ничего не делать.

Вы в лаборатории разрабатываете сферу 3D-визуализации — каких достижений и новшеств удалось добиться?

Студенты сделали интересный проект мультитач-стола, на котором пальцами могут рисовать сразу несколько человек, а сейчас разрабатываем нам нем систему голографических изображений. Садясь за такой стол, мы будем видеть голограмму через специальную оптическую систему.

Ого, как в кабинах космических кораблей в голливудской интерпретации?

Не так технологично, но в воздухе можно будет видеть файлы и объекты, создав нужный свет. Конечно, пальцами растянуть скрин не получится. Но работа над этим идет, мы уже знаем, как это сделать.

Еще у нас в разработке различные виды 3D-шлемов со встроенными аудиосистемами и проект 3D-лектория для школьников по физике.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Пробовали работать со стерео-изображениями — это дает возможность увидеть фотографию буквально под другим углом. Недавно на выставке фотографий Сергея Челнокова в Музее Москвы мы сделали из стереопар некое информативное пространство, куда можно было зайти и увидеть фото в 3D, рассмотреть характер каждого персонажа — возникает целая драматургия из деталей, которые можно исследовать с точки зрения культурологии, философии, искусства.

Еще у нас есть перчатка, в которую встраиваются вибромоторы, и когда вы прикасаетесь к виртуальному предмету — идет вибрация на пальцы, так что вы можете даже почувствовать виртуальный предмет на ощупь. Правда, тут есть проблема с самим моделированием — нужно максимально качественно рисовать саму «реальность». Моделирование реальности может стать востребованным в музейной сфере — это онлайн-экскурсии, или в работе с тренажерами-имитаторами. Я, к примеру, давно вынашиваю идею виртуальной церкви.

Ой.

Почему бы нет: если человек маломобильный, но верующий, почему бы ему не посещать качественную модель храма, чтобы почувствовать себя там комфортно.

 

450 000

составляет грант РФФИ в конкурсе инициативных научных проектов, выполняемых молодыми учеными (Мой первый грант).

Источник

 

Здорово, если б туда одновременно могли прийти несколько человек, и виртуальный пастор читал проповедь онлайн. Такой сounter-strike, только духовный.

Конечно. Но тут уже начинаются другие проблемы, неизменные спутники науки, — этические.

Чем планируете заняться после того, как закончите аспирантуру? Может инженер стать русским Джобсом, к примеру?

У нас каждый ученый, который создал инновационное предприятие, где работают люди — уже Стив Джобс в своей сфере. Посмотрите на выпускников программы «Старт» — многие запустили свой бизнес. Технари или медики, начиная свой проект, не думали, что станут бизнесменами, а сейчас они дают людям рабочие места. Ведь у ученого есть еще и социальная нагрузка. Например я, как участник программы, должен в следующем году тоже создать свое предприятие, а до этого провести опытно-конструкторские работы и вывести розетки на рынок, потом предоставить рабочие места — на это как раз и даются деньги, те самые 2 млн гранта, которые я получил. Еще «планы на будущее» после окончания вуза — повод свериться со своей дорожной картой. Пока все мои попытки роста довольно импульсивные. Попробовав разные роли, вижу себя как кандидат технических наук, преподаватель, человек, который занимается управленческой работой — а там как сложится. Вся суть в том, чтобы не упустить возможности, которые возникнут случайно. Ученые музу не ждут.

Обязательно хочется поработать со школьниками. Например, курсы по 3D-печати, робототехнике и элементарному программированию — путь к тому, чтобы заинтересовывать детей и готовить их к техническим специальностям, потихоньку раскачивать консервативную сферу образования. Чтобы ребенок не шел в технический вуз неосознанно, как это было у меня — я пришел, потому что мне нравилось играть в игры.

Все материалы рубрики