• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
visionusersearch

 

Ksenia Babat

Received her bachelor’s from HSE before completing her master’s in Business Psychology in 2008.

Began working as a corporate trainer for Media-Saturn in 2008; held lectures at HSE on coaching between 2010 and 2012; began working for Puma as a trainer, psychologist, and development manager in 2011; and since 2014 has been Puma’s Senior HR Manager.

«Life is one way for a psychologist to put their knowledge into practice»

Success Builder


About the project
«Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

Nowadays, psychology has a very specific application in the world of business, as not a single large company in the world is able to get by without a staff of professional psychologists. Ksenia Babat, Senior HR Manager at Puma, tells Success Builder what a business psychologist does, how to start building a strategy for professional success as a student, and why she holds coaching sessions on the weekends.

You were among the first class to graduate from HSE’s Faculty of Psychology. Why did you decide to continue your education in the master’s programme?

I wanted to do my master’s right after undergrad and decided to make my knowledge more specific and focus on a particular direction. I decided to apply for the Business Psychology Master’s Programme. I really wanted to work, make money, and build a career, and I think business psychology gives me that opportunity. This is a pretty natural source of motivation for a student.

Did you plan to work at a large, well-known company, or did everything just turn out that way?

I started working fairly early when I was a sophomore in college. I knew exactly what I liked doing, but I didn’t understand how to build a career. I just went with the flow, and saw this as a time for experimenting. Now I understand that I would have been very thankful to have someone close who had already found themselves and could give me advice, examples, and answers. I didn’t have that kind of person in my life though, which is why I am now happy to meet with students and share my experience. Work – even freelance work – helped me decide on a business direction. I was 21 when I randomly got my first job with a Russian real estate company. I was tasked with creating a learning system at the company. Of course, I agreed to construct the system from the ground up because this is precisely what I had learned at the university. I also realised that this is exactly what I wanted to do, and having read over lecture notes from HSE in cafes, on the metro, at lunch, I tried to put the concepts from every single lecture into practice.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

Did it work out okay?

Absolutely. I put the cases and knowledge directly into the working structure. In the evenings, I would listen to a lecture and participate in a seminar, and the next day I was already using this information at work. This was really convenient and everything worked out. It wasn’t that I was using the company as a guinea pig, but I really gave the company a lot and I am still close with people from the company. When I was finishing HSE and my German classes, I realised that my time and energy were being freed up for something more, which meant I needed to go further. And I went forward, already having an acute awareness of exactly what I needed for my career.

Why German?

 

360

students took the Intro to Psychology class at Harvard University in 1898. American professors lamented, ‘Why does the country need so many psychologists?’

Source

 

I thought about going to Germany to study. In any case, though, German wasn’t a bad decision, considering the fact that the main office of Puma, where I currently work, is located in Germany.

Can you tell us what a business psychologist does exactly?

As concerns what I do, I first and foremost work in the department of personnel management. This includes hiring, training and development, assessments, internal communications, and corporate culture; that is, everything dealing with close communication and cooperation with staff. Sometimes personnel management departments don’t have people with an education in psychology, but as a professional psychologist, I see the value of my education and understand how to build communication effectively, how to construct this or that process from an academic point of view, how to launch a project, and how to do everything correctly and systematically. People who aren’t professional psychologists acquire knowledge by doing and when the risk of making a mistake is high.

Psychologists who don’t work in business deal with psychological counselling and psychiatry, or they work with children. If you look at my classmates who chose counselling instead of business psychology, for example, they are involved with psychotherapy. They hold individual consultations, work at kindergartens and schools, or work on hotlines.

What about psychology as a scientific field? It seems to me that the modern day psychologist can achieve pretty stellar results, as the field is quite broad and deep.

In response to the question of why you chose psychology, the majority of us say, ‘to help people and be a good mother.’ And life is one way for a psychologist to put their knowledge into practice. To this day, when I meet my friends who are psychologists and went into the scientific side, I’m a little sad. After all, it’s so rich with discoveries, research, and discussions – which is all invaluable – but there are nuances here. Science requires patience, and it’s time consuming. Plus, satisfaction might not come as quickly as it would working in business, where there are goals and deadlines, and where it’s very clear what you have to do to achieve a certain goal. In science you can research a hypothesis for many years, but then it doesn’t pay off, and there is a high risk that you’ll be disappointed and lose resources. I’m not prepared for that. I’ve also always aimed for financial stability, which comes much faster in the world of business. I need a certain dynamic. Quick self-realization is important for me.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

Exactly how are you fulfilling your potential now? By working at Puma?

Puma, as is customary for large corporations, opened up incredible opportunities for me. The word ‘incredible’ is key here – not only can you advance in your career, but you can also do what you love, that is, propose your ideas and watch them become a reality. I also came here four years ago to construct a training system for staff. After carrying out my first big project, the company gave me the opportunity to grow, and I’m very grateful that they trusted me and gave me the freedom and prospects for growth. This includes creative growth too – all of my ideas and projects. I’m currently the senior personnel manager and am responsible for Puma’s entire employee development cycle in Russia, Ukraine, and Turkey. It’s inspiring when people trust you to carry out a certain project and see the results of your work. The office staff have been there for many years, turnover has fallen in stores, and the results of the involvement questionnaire have been growing consistently from year to year.

Evening conversations with friends over tea are much more useful than controversial interviews from psychology magazines for housewives.

What is a ‘systematic’ and professional approach towards work?

When I arrived, they told me they needed a training system. Thanks to my education and previous work experience, I started with diagnostics. In order to understand where you’re going, you need to know where you are. We analysed the company’s activities, and based on this information, we built a staff training system. So every time a task arises, I know exactly how to solve it ‘scientifically.’

I now have a team of four individuals at the company, and despite the fact that they are located in different countries, they work cohesively and systematically. In my work, I try to find a balance between employees’ interests and the interests of the business. I’m certain that this is the formula for success at advanced companies that are happy with the work of their employees.

What’s it like working at such a renowned international company? Are there specific pluses?

Objectively speaking, Puma isn’t the largest of international corporations, and we only have around 500 employees in Russia and about 1,000 in the entire region. But what I like about it is the close relations we have with our parent company in Herzogenaurach, Germany. This link makes us feel connected and united by global goals and a mission that our department shares and brings to employees. For me, this sense of belonging to something global has become very important. We regularly have guests from Herzogenaurach, and in turn, we’re invited to meetings in Germany. As an example, I participated in the international project ‘Puma University,’ which is an unforgettable experience during which teams from different countries come together to share their experiences, cultures, and emotions. There were 15 of us from different countries, and now, when I go on vacation anywhere, I know that I have ‘my kind of person’ in any foreign country.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

How do you feel about psychology as a human endeavour? Where does popular psychology end and real psychology begin?

As a person with a university education, I think I know this brink fairly well. Everything you can analyse research, pack into numbers, and make conclusions about – that is real psychology. As for pop culture – it’s important to filter and select tried and tested sources of knowledge. You also need to talk to people more, I think. Evening conversations with friends over tea are much more useful than controversial interviews from psychology magazines for housewives. You develop a positive atmosphere and trust, and you are able to walk through a problem, which is one step closer to resolving it.

Do you apply any psychological knowledge and tricks to your own life?

Yes, of course. But psychologists haven’t completely done away with a sort of professional deformation, and it’s sometimes hard for me to determine what stems from my education and what doesn’t. Analysing and controlling a situation are skills you learn when you’re a student, and these skills have become a part of me. When I teach people things that are obvious to me, I sometimes see a look of surprise on their face because what’s obvious for me might be new for someone else. When I carry out trainings, I try to remember this so no one loses track, which allows me to give participants enough information, examples, and time to work things out and discuss the issues.

It’s a good idea to think seriously about the question of what you want and where you see yourself in 10 years and work backwards – in five years, three years, one year – so you’re able to build a plan of action while you’re still in your undergrad.

What is the career of a psychologist like as concerns growth? What can a psychologist ultimately do with their career?

I would actually ask who a person can be irrespective of the profession they chose. A lot depends on the goals you set for yourself. When it comes down to it, business psychology involves working at large companies with personnel and consulting. Here, a lot really depends on a person’s determination. A psychologist is able to achieve exactly the same career heights any other specialist can.

It’s a good idea for psychology students to think seriously about the question of what they want and where they see themselves in 10 years and work backwards – in five years, three years, one year – so they can build a plan of action while still in their undergrad. Everything in life changes, of course, but the main thing is to know what you want. As for me, I want to be an HR Director, and I’m quickly working towards this goal.

As strange as it may sound, external projects help me do my job well at the company. I learned a lot myself after finishing my master’s. I’m now involved in coaching and I hold outside consultations. I see this as an opportunity to broaden my horizons and maintain my skills. I hold trainings on weekends, which helps me understand what’s happening on the labour market. Then I go to work with a new energy and passion. I even find time to work during my lunchbreaks. A lot of students come to me asked what they should do after the university, so I invite them to mini coaching sessions that I hold for students free of charge. I feel like I have the experience and that is my debt – helping.

Other ‘Success Builder’ Stories

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

 

Ксения Бабат

Закончила бакалавриат, а затем и магистратуру НИУ ВШЭ в 2008 году по направлению «психология в бизнесе».

В 2008 году начала работать корпоративным тренером в компании Media-Saturn, с 2010 по 2012 проводила лекции в Вышке на тему коучинга, в 2011 году начала работать в компании Puma как тренер-психолог и менеджер по развитию, а с 2014-го занимает там пост старшего HR-менеджера.

«Одно из применений знаний хорошего психолога — жизнь»

Конструктор успеха


О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

Психология в наши дни имеет очень конкретное приложение в бизнесе: ни одна крупная компания в мире не обходится без штата профессиональных психологов. Ксения Бабат, старший HR-менеджер компании «Puma», рассказала, кто такой «бизнес-психолог», как еще студентом начать выстраивать стратегию профессионального успеха и зачем она в выходные проводит коуч-сессии.

Вы — первый выпуск факультета психологии Вышки. Почему решили продолжить обучение в магистратуре?

Я была последовательна и решила сузить свои знания и больше углубить их в конкретном направлении. Решила поступить в магистратуру на «Психологию в бизнесе» — очень хотелось работать, зарабатывать, строить карьеру, а я считаю, что «психология в бизнесе» дает такую возможность. Это довольно естественная мотивация для студента.

Планировали работать в большой известной компании, или все произошло само собой?

Я довольно рано начала работать — еще на втором курсе бакалавриата. Понимала, что именно мне нравится делать, но не понимала, как строить карьеру и плыла по течению — это было время экспериментов. Сейчас я понимаю, что была бы очень благодарна, если бы рядом оказался кто-то, кто уже прошел путь поиска себя и мог бы помочь советом, примером, вопросом. У меня такого человека рядом не оказалось. Поэтому сейчас я с радостью хожу на встречи со студентами и делюсь своим опытом. Работа, хоть и на фрилансе, помогла определиться с бизнес-направлением. Мне был 21 год, когда я впервые наугад устроилась в одну из российских компаний по работе с недвижимостью. Я должна была выстраивать систему обучения в компании — конечно, я согласилась строить систему с нуля, потому что именно построению системной работы меня учили в институте. К тому же я поняла: именно этим хочу заниматься. И, читая конспекты лекций из Вышки за кофе, в транспорте, в обеденный перерыв, я буквально каждую из них пыталась опробовать на практике.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

И как, получалось?

Однозначно. Я переносила кейсы и знания непосредственно в рабочую структуру — вечером я слушала лекцию или участвовала в семинаре, а на следующий день я уже применяла это на работе. Это было очень удобно, и все удавалось. Не то что бы я использовала компанию как подопытного кролика, но действительно дала ей много, и до сих пор мы очень дружим. Когда я заканчивала Вышку и курсы немецкого, поняла, что освобождается время и силы для чего-то большего — а значит, нужно идти дальше. И пошла, уже с большим осознанием того, что именно мне нужно для карьеры.

А почему немецкий?

 

360

студентов учились в 1898 году на курсе «Введение в психологию» Гарвар­дского университета. Американские профес­сора сокрушались: «На что этой стране столько психологов?»

Источник

 

Думала поехать поучиться в Германию, оказалось в любом случае не зря, учитывая что головной офис компании Puma, где я сейчас работаю, находится в Германии.

Расскажите, чем занимается «бизнес-психолог»?

Если говорить обо мне, то я человек прежде всего из отдела по управлению персоналом. Это подбор, обучение и развитие, оценка, внутренние коммуникации и корпоративная культура — то есть все, что связано с тесным взаимодействием с сотрудниками. Бывает, что в управлении персоналом работают люди без психологического образования, и я, будучи профессиональным психологом, вижу ценность своего образования и понимаю, как правильно выстраивать коммуникации, как с научной точки зрения построить тот или иной процесс, запустить проект и все делать правильно, системно. Не профессионалы получают знания на ощупь, с практикой, где риски сделать ошибку велики.

Психолог не в бизнесе — это психологическое консультирование, психиатрия, работа с детьми. Если посмотреть на моих однокурсников, которые выбрали не бизнес-психологию, а психологию консультирования, то они занимаются психотерапией — консультируют индивидуально, работают в детсадах и школах, на горячих линиях.

Как насчет научной области? Мне кажется там современный психолог может добиться космически интересных результатов — область и глубока, и широка.

На вопрос о том, почему вы выбрали психологию, большинство из нас давало два основных ответа: помогать людям и быть хорошей мамой. И одно из применений знаний хорошего психолога — жизнь. До сих пор, когда встречаюсь со своими друзьями-психологами, которые пошли в науку, немного грущу, ведь она настолько богата открытиями, процессом исследований и дискуссиями — это бесценно. Но есть и нюансы: наука требует терпения, кропотливости, и удовлетворение может прийти не так скоро, как в работе с бизнесом, где есть цели и сроки и очень понятно, что нужно сделать для того, чтобы эти цели достичь. В науке ты можешь исследовать гипотезу много лет, а потом она себя вдруг не оправдает — тогда риск разочарования и потери ресурсов высок, к чему я не готова. К тому же я стремилась к денежной стабильности, которая в работе в бизнесе приходит быстрее. Мне нужна динамика — мне важно самореализовываться быстро.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Как именно вы самореализуетесь сейчас, на своем рабочем месте в «Пуме»?

«Puma», как и положено большой корпорации, открыла для меня большие возможности. Слово «большие» тут ключевое — ты можешь не только расти карьерно, но и делать то, что нравится, то есть предлагать свои идеи и видеть, как они становятся реальными. Я пришла сюда четыре года назад также выстраивать систему обучения сотрудников. После реализации первого большого проекта компания дала мне возможности расти, и я благодарна, что мне доверяли, давали свободу и перспективы роста. В том числе творческого, то есть всех моих задумок и проектов. Пока я старший менеджер по персоналу и отвечаю за весь цикл развития сотрудника в компании, в России, Украине и Турции Это вдохновляет, когда тебе доверяют реализовать тот или иной проект и видеть результаты своей работы, Сотрудники в офисе работают по много лет, снизилась текучка и в магазинах, результаты опросника по вовлеченности неизменно растут от года к году.

Вечерние разговоры с друзьями за чашкой чая бывают гораздо более полезны, чем спорные интервью из журнала по психологии для домохозяек.

Что такое «системный» и профессиональный подход к работе?

Когда я пришла, мне сказали, что нужна система обучения. Благодаря образованию и предыдущему опыту работы я начала с диагностики. Для того чтобы понять, куда идти, надо осознать, где находишься. Мы анализировали деятельность компании и на основе этого строили обучение персонала. И так каждый раз — когда появляется задача, я хорошо знаю, как решить ее «по науке».

Теперь у меня в компании есть команда из четырех человек, и, несмотря на то, что они находятся в разных странах, работают очень слаженно и системно. В работе я стараюсь найти баланс между интересами сотрудников и интересами бизнеса. Я убеждена, что это и есть формула успеха продвинутых компаний, довольных работой сотрудников.

Каково работать в международной компании с таким именем? Есть особенности и профиты?

Если быть объективной, «Puma» — не самая крупная международная корпорация, в России у нас всего около 500 сотрудников, во всем регионе — около 1000, но что мне в ней нравится, так это тесная связь с головным офисом в городе Херцогенаурах в Германии. Эта связь дает чувство соединенности и общности, единства глобальных ценностей и миссии, которые наш отдел разделяет и бережно доносит до сотрудников. Для меня это чувство сопричастности к чему-то глобальному стало очень важным чувством. К нам часто приезжают из Херцогенаураха, а нас, в свою очередь, приглашают на собрания туда. Например, я участвовала в международном проекте «Пума Университет» — незабываемый опыт, когда команда участников из разных стран собирается на тренинг для обмена опытом, культурой и эмоциями. Нас было 15 человек из разных стран, и теперь, когда я еду куда-нибудь в отпуск, я понимаю, что в незнакомой стране у меня есть «свой человек».

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Как вы относитесь к психологии как к человеческому увлечению? Где проходит грань между популярной и реальной психологией?

У меня как у человека с университетским образованием есть ощущение, что я эту грань знаю: все, что можно проанализировать, исследовать, упаковать в числовые показатели и сделать выводы —это и есть настоящая психология. Все, что касается поп-культуры — здесь важно уметь фильтровать и выбирать проверенные источники знаний. Еще нужно больше разговаривать, мне кажется, вечерние разговоры с друзьями за чашкой чая бывают гораздо более полезны, чем спорные интервью из журнала по психологии для домохозяек. Тут складывается и хорошая атмосфера, и доверие, и проговаривание проблемы, которое и есть шаг к решению.

Вы сами применяете психологические знания и уловки к жизни?

Конечно — да. Но и психологи не ушли от профдеформации, и мне порой сложно отличить, что является частью моего образования, а что нет. Анализ и управление ситуацией — это навыки, прижившиеся еще в студенческие годы и ставшие частью меня. Когда я обучаю людей каким-то очевидным для меня вещам, иногда вижу на лицах удивление, потому что очевидные для меня вещи становятся новостью для других. Когда я провожу тренинги, стараюсь об этом помнить, чтобы не потерять нить и дать участникам достаточно информации, примеров, времени на отработку и обсуждения.

Хорошо бы серьезно задуматься над вопросом «чего я хочу и кем себя вижу через 10 лет» и отматывать назад: через 5 лет, 3 года, год, чтобы еще на стадии бакалавра выстроить себе стратегию движения.

Какова карьера психолога в смысле планки роста — кем он может быть в бесконечной перспективе?

Я бы задалась вопросом, кем вообще может быть человек, независимо от выбранной профессии. Многое зависит от того, какие цели перед собой ставишь. А если говорить приземленно, психология в бизнесе подразумевает работу в крупных компаниях с персоналом и в консалтинге, здесь действительно все зависит от упорства человека — психолог может достичь абсолютно таких же вершин в карьере, как и любой другой специалист.

Что хорошо бы сделать студенту-психологу — так это серьезно задуматься над вопросом «чего я хочу и кем себя вижу через 10 лет» и отматывать назад: через 5 лет, 3 года, год, чтобы еще на стадии бакалавра выстроить себе стратегию движения. Все, конечно, в жизни меняется, но главное — знать, чего хочешь. Я вот хочу быть HR-директором и динамично иду к этой цели.

Как ни странно, но хорошо работать в компании мне помогают внешние проекты. Я очень много училась сама после окончания магистратуры — сейчас я увлекаюсь коучингом и провожу внешние консультации, для меня это возможность расширить свой кругозор и сохранить полученные навыки. В свои выходные я провожу тренинги и с их помощью понимаю, что происходит на рынке труда, а потом прихожу на работу с новой энергией и азартом. Иногда даже в обеденный перерыв у меня находится работа: многие студенты обращаются ко мне с вопросом — что мне делать после университета? И я зову их на мини коуч-сессию, которую всегда провожу для студентов бесплатно, мне кажется, у меня есть опыт и это мой долг — помочь.

Все материалы рубрики