• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

About the project
«Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

In the latest edition of Success Builder, HSE alumna Olga Filatova, who is currently the Vice President for HR and Education at Mail.Ru Group, explains the ins and outs of hunting for talent nationwide, and she also talks about what it’s like to work in the United States and whether jobseekers’ social media accounts are important.

How did you find work – during the university or after?

At the start of the faculty of management programme there are several courses we took in the evenings. That’s why I was able to work during the day, and I’ve been working since I was 16. Our evening instructors were the best and most experienced because over the course of 20 lectures you can tell as much as you want to as many people as you want, but try doing all of that in just 10 evening lectures like they did. The teachers factored in the fact that we had jobs, and there was a culture of understanding, respect, and partnership.

One of your first jobs was at Yukos. Was it easy getting into such a large company while being a student?

It’s a story connected to HSE. One of the evening instructors was Doctor Tatyana Lobanova. She came up to me after one of the lectures, praised me for one of the group discussions, and suggested that I intern at Yukos. At the time, they would take on younger students to study cases from inside the company. ‘I lecture there and will recommend you,’ she said. Wow! I thought. So that’s how I ended up interning in the HR department, and this is where I quickly started to grow from a consultant and teacher into a project manager.

Before, a recruiter would post an ad in the paper, find a resume, and interview someone. Now the first interview is done by a bot that finds you on social media

What’s it like being a new person at a large corporation?

It depends on the person. Of course it’s nice to try out everything to understand what fits. One person might want to begin at a startup, another at a family-owned business, but I went for size so I could immediately get into a corporate juggernaut and learn a lot quickly. I think this is perfect for someone just starting his or her career. You’re always successful at a startup and family business. It’s not important if you’re new or an experienced specialist – if you inherently don’t fit in at the company, your job there won’t last long. In any case, this is a useful opportunity to understand your field. I enjoyed it. For me Mail.ru Group is the smallest company I’ve worked at. Yukos Severstal, Mars, etc. – these are all giants with 140,000 staff members.

What are the responsibilities of an HR specialist and what does the hierarchy of an HR department look like?

HR encompasses several roles, one of which is the HR manager, who helps employees and department heads work effectively on a team, find enjoyment in their work, and realise their full professional potential. There is also HR recordkeeping, and the HR professional is an administrator that supports these kinds of processes within a company. In addition, HR serves as a centre of expertise for wage distribution, hiring, training, and development, and this centre monitors the internal practices of different departments, as well as the changes that take place on the market. Lastly, we introduce leading practises to the company as a whole.

Do universities factor in such a complex set of competencies for future HR professionals?

The HSE Department of Human Resource Management, for example, gives students the fundamentals of theory and practice, after which they gain experience at a large company in order to master the entire range of HR duties and try out different roles. Or even better, they can go to a company where HR is a source of revenue. Because of the specificities of business, we at Mail.ru Group often take on students with a technical education, but we also have graduates from HSE’s faculty of management. Active changes are underway in the field of HR as far as technology is concerned – technology that educational programmes cannot always keep up with. Before, a recruiter would post an ad in the paper, find a resume, and interview someone. Now the first interview is done by a bot that finds you on social media. After this, a test case is sent to solve, and only then do candidates talk to a real person.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

Can you give some advice to the job hunter who wants to catch an HR professional’s interest?

There’s a secret – update your profile or resume on different sites and social networks, and when a recruiter looks at the people who applied, the system will show them the people whose information is freshest. It’s important to make information about yourself available, as well as to list your projects and express your opinion about different relevant topics. Recruiters from Mail.ru Group are well versed in IT; they read technical articles and participate in dissuasions at technical forums and chats. That’s why you should be active, show initiative in your posts, and demonstrate professionalism. This all plays into your success.

What websites do you use to find employees?

Oftentimes Habrahabr and other top-name internet communities. A lot of them don’t allow you to post vacancies, so you just have to participate in discussions, look at people, and communicate with them individually. Job vacancies only get responses from people who are actively looking for a job, but oftentimes you have to find an expert who isn’t looking, as a job posting won’t work, even if it’s personalised using targeted advertising.

There’s a lot of software for HR. For example, say you’re looking for a cool interface designer, but he or she isn’t currently looking for a job. You can make it so you get a notification when something changes in their public status. This might just be the perfect time to call.

In the U.S. 33 is the age of a beginning professional who in the best case scenario is going to be working on some smaller project

Do recruiters look at jobseekers’ personal pages on social networks?

This is currently a painful topic. On the one hand, there is legislation being pushed in Europe that says employers are not allowed to look at public information on social networking sites without informing the potential candidate. Moreover, they cannot reject someone based on the information they find on social networks. When a candidate has already made it through various stages, the recruiter might look at the information available about the person in order to prepare for a face-to-face meeting. But what a person posts on social networking sites hardly characterises what the person will be like as an employee. He or she can post pictures of cats and still be a technical director. So what, I won’t hire them because of cat photos? Only if we are a company that hates cats… Maybe the person is posting them because they hate cats too. But in any case, interesting and expert-level posts on social media that are timely and relevant always give you points as far as creativity and uniqueness are concerned.

Have you yourself always interviewed and gotten a job at the first place you selected?

In Russia yes, it turned out that I’ve never really had to look for a job. Everything happened on its own. I was recommended for the Yukos job, and Severstal found me. The only job I actually looked for was at Mars. When a vacancy opened up at Severstal’s American office, I decided to increase my level of freedom and go. It wasn’t easy in the States, but it was great, and when Alexei Mordashov sold all American assets, I decided to stay and find another interesting job. I was spoiled, of course – at 33 I had already been the vice president for HR at three huge factories and joint ventures with workers unions whose members later went on to work for the Obama administration. I had been spoiled by the complex set of problems, the dynamics, and difficult negotiations, and I wanted to find a similar job. In the U.S. 33 is the age of a beginning professional who in the best case scenario is going to be working on some smaller project. At the interviews, people were welcoming, they liked me and said ‘fantastic,’ but they didn’t believe that at that age a person had been able to achieve this level of success in an honest way.

How do HR practices in the U.S. differ from those in Russia?

When I worked in the States, I encountered certain legal practices. In America, suing your employer for something is as common practice as brushing your teeth in the morning. The first training I did in the U.S. was with a labour lawyer who explained to me how serious things were there. You can’t pat someone on the shoulder or open the door for a woman, and if you give someone a compliment three times and it’s not reciprocated, then you have to stop immediately or else this could equate to harassment. It’s hard to convert your brain after Russia; here, if a woman doesn’t get a compliment at work then it means the day is out the window.

Does an HR professional delve into the field they work in? You worked at Severstal and then suddenly went into IT, for example.

I had a good little bridge. My international experience made Mail.ru Group consider me a viable candidate for this position. After I returned to Russia, I spent a year and a half as the director for investments in HR and EDUTech businesses, so I understood the industry, employees, difficulties, etc. It’s very hard to just switch from a natural resources and production company to IT. These are two different universes really.

A person can post pictures of cats and still be a technical director. So what, I won’t hire them because of cat photos?

How is Mail.ru Group’s structure unique? Do employees there differ from others in the industry?

Mail.ru Group is made up of 40 different teams and a large group of brands. Strategy between the teams is really important to the company. We have a lot of different topical subcultures, including the culture of VKontakte, Odnoklassniki, Delivery Club gaming studios, the post, etc., but they are all joined together by practicality. They are all smart, free, quick, adventurous, and brave.

There’s the phenomenon of ‘novice syndrome’ at Mail.ru Group where a new person gets lost in the office and can’t get to his or her desk. They drink a glass of freshly squeezed juice in the morning, then they shave, work out, get a massage, take part in a scavenger hunt, go to the anniversary celebration for some project, play a video game then a board game, take a nap, drink some coffee, talk to their colleagues, and then it’s time for lunch from a food truck followed by some ice cream. This often happens with professionals who are just starting out and haven’t yet developed the ability to organise their own time. We warn everyone about this at orientation; it’s tempting to use all of the liberal achievements of the office and lose focus of your work performance. Have you seen our office?

Oh yes.

Everyone is really informal and free, and not just because they are young. It’s because employees aren’t forbidden to express themselves here. At a lot of companies, it’s common to work by instruction only, follow a dress code, and have to get orders and approvals from a ton of departments and managers, but at Mail.ru each project manager is independent and personally responsible.

We hold around 150 events a year, including meetings for professional communities, project anniversary celebrations, a summer office party, New Years celebrations, tons of sporting events, parties for employees’ families, company anniversaries, and a lot more (all in addition to 250 training events). This is also important and improves communication among employees.

Do a lot of the interns you take on from technical universities get jobs at Mail.ru after?

We specifically train more students than we need; it’s our mission to develop IT education in Russia and teach students about innovations first-hand. We end up keeping on around 100 interns. More than 200 of our employees teach at five of Russia’s best technical universities, and they subsequently end up taking on the best students into their departments. The field of IT is very fluid, and new practices are always arising, which is why fundamental university knowledge is not enough.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

A little about the future – what competencies should students gain now in order to be competitive on the job market in the future?

We’ve seen the example of the Superjob study, where professionals from different fields were surveyed and asked, ‘When do you think you’ll be replaced by robots?’ The leaders of the survey were bakers who assumed that pastries would soon be made using 3D printers. Drivers on the other hand didn’t think that anyone would replace them, despite the emergence of driverless cars. The fields with a lot of intellectual labour and decision-making will stay, and only the tools will change. Each industry is digitising, which is why ‘programmer’ will soon be the most popular profession. Well, big data specialists as well.

When did fate bring you to HSE?

HSE entered my life when my sister studied in the economics faculty and suggested that I go here. At the time, no one taught economics on such a deep level, and I really valued the university as a whole and its approach. It was a wonderful time. Despite the fact that I studied in the evenings, I was still able to be active: I was in theatre, performed at festivals, went to the dance studio, and then got a job at HSE. My day was 24 hours of HSE. Now I go to the HSE Department of Human Resource Management and talk about the HR profession, then I take students on a tour of Mail.ru Group. I’m also a member of the board of trustees and a trustee in the endowment fund for outstanding HSE students. So we’ll continue to encourage research and internships for gifted HSE students. I gained a lot at HSE, and now I’m happy to give back.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

 

 

Ольга Филатова

Окончила факультет менеджмента ВШЭ (сейчас — факультет бизнеса и менеджмента), бакалавриат и магистратуру.

С 2005 по 2009 год курировала управление корпоративным университетом в ООО «МАРС». С 2009 года — в ОАО «Северсталь» работала начальником управления по привлечению и развитию персонала. С 2012 года перешла в «Северсталь Северная Америка» на позицию вице-президента по работе с персоналом, затем возглавила направление HR-бизнесы в «Севергрупп» в качестве исполнительного директора. С сентября 2016 года — вице-президент по персоналу и образовательным проектам Mail.Ru Group.

«Сферы, где много интеллектуального труда, роботы не займут»

Конструктор успеха


О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

В рубрике «Конструктор успеха» выпускница ВШЭ Ольга Филатова,  вице-президент Mail.Ru Group по персоналу и образовательным проектам, рассказывает об особенностях национальной охоты на специалистов, работе в США и о том, важно ли, что соискатели пишут в соцсетях.

Как вы попали на работу — во время учебы или после?

На заре факультета менеджмента было несколько курсов, на которых мы учились по вечерам. Поэтому у меня была возможность работать днем — и я работала с 16 лет. На вечернем нас учили лучшие и самые опытные преподаватели, потому что за 20 лекций ты расскажешь кому угодно и что угодно, а вот попробуй сделать это за 10 вечерних лекций. Преподаватели учитывали, что мы работаем — между нами возникла культура взаимопонимания, уважения, партнерства.

Одно из ваших первых мест работы — ЮКОС. Было просто попасть в такую крупную компанию, будучи студентом?

Это история, связанная с Вышкой. Одно из вечерних занятий вела кандидат наук Татьяна Лобанова. Как-то после занятия она ко мне подошла, похвалила за дискуссию в группе и предложила пойти в ЮКОС на стажировку — там как раз набирали молодых ребят, чтобы обучать на кейсах внутри компании. «Я читаю там лекции и тебя порекомендую», — пообещала она. Ничего себе! Так я попала на обучение в HR-отдел на стажерскую программу, где быстро стала расти от преподавателя-консультанта до руководителя проектов.

Раньше рекрутер размещал объявление в газете, находил резюме, интервьюировал человека. Сейчас первое интервью проводит бот, который нашел тебя в соцсетях

Как новичок чувствует себя в большой корпорации?

Это зависит от личности. Конечно, хорошо бы попробовать все, чтобы точно понять, что твое. Кто-то хочет начать в стартапе, кто-то — в семейной компании, а я выбрала масштаб, чтобы сразу попасть в корпоративную махину и научиться многому и сразу. Считаю, что для начинающего карьеру специалиста это самое то, а в стартап и семейную компанию ты всегда успеешь. Неважно, новичок ты или опытный специалист — если ты по натуре не подходишь компании, работа там долго не продлится. В любом случае, это будет полезный опыт для того, чтобы понять свое направление. Мне было хорошо. Mail.ru Group для меня — самая маленькая компания из тех, где я работала. «Юкос», «Северсталь», «Mars» и т. д. — гиганты в 140 тысяч «голов» персонала.

Каковы обязанности HR-специалиста и иерархия отдела?

В HR есть несколько ролей, одна из которых — HR менеджер, который помогает сотрудникам и менеджерам отделов результативно работать в команде, получать удовольствие от работы и реализовываться профессионально. Еще — кадровое делопроизводство, HR-сотрудник как администратор, который поддерживает процессы в компании. Есть роль экспертного центра оплаты труда, подбора, обучения, развития, где следят за внутренними практиками внутри разных отделов и изменениями на рынке и внедряют все передовое внутри компании.

В вузах учитывают столь сложный набор компетенций для будущих HR-специалистов?

На кафедре управления человеческими ресурсами в Вышке, например, дают все основы теории и практики, после чего хорошо попрактиковаться в большой компании, чтобы охватить весь спектр обязанностей HR, попробовать себя в разных ролях. Или еще лучше, пойти в компанию, где HR — зарабатывающая деньги функция. В силу специфики бизнесов в Мail.ru Group мы чаще берем ребят с техническим образованием, но у нас работают и выпускники Вышки с факультета менеджмента. Сейчас в сфере HR происходят активные изменения с точки зрения технологий, за которыми образовательные программы не всегда поспевают. Раньше рекрутер размещал объявление в газете, находил резюме, интервьюировал человека. Сейчас первое интервью проводит бот, который нашел тебя в соцсетях. После этого высылается тестовое задание на решение кейса. И только потом кандидатов собеседует живой человек.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Посоветуйте, как соискателю заинтересовать HR-специалиста?

Есть такой технический секрет: на разных сайтах и в соцсетях делать обновление своего профиля или резюме, и когда рекрутер просматривает людей, подавших заявки, то часто система показывает ему тех, чья информация ранжируется в интернете как свежая. Важно делать доступной информацию о вас, выкладывать свои проекты, высказывать свое мнение по разным актуальным поводам. Рекрутеры Mail.ru Group хорошо подкованы в IT-тематике: читают технические статьи, участвуют в дискуссиях на технических форумах и в чатах. Поэтому — быть активным, проявлять свою инициативу в постах, показывать свой профессионализм. Все это сыграет на ваш успех.

На каких сайтах вы ищете сотрудников?

Часто это Хабрахабр и другие профильные интернет-сообщества. На многих есть запрет на размещение вакансий, так что приходится просто участвовать в дискуссиях, смотреть на людей и коммуницировать лично. Да и на вакансии откликнутся только кандидаты, активно ищущие работу, а часто надо заинтересовать эксперта, ее не ищущего, и тогда объявление не сработает, даже персонально обращенное при помощи таргетированной рекламы именно к тебе.

Существует множество софта для HR. Например, вы охотитесь за крутым дизайнером интерфейсов, но он сейчас не ищет работу, а когда что-то меняет в своем публичном статусе, тебе приходит уведомление — быть может, в это самое время ему стоит позвонить.

В США 33 года — возраст начинающего специалиста, который в лучшем случае будет заниматься маленьким проектиком

Рекрутеры изучают личные профили соискателей в соцсетях?

Это сейчас наболевшая тема. С одной стороны, в Европе продвигают законодательство, согласно которому работодатели не могут без информирования потенциального кандидата просматривать публичную информацию в соцсетях. И тем более не могут отказывать на основании информации из соцсетей. На стадии, когда кандидат уже прошел разные этапы, рекрутер может посмотреть открытую информацию о человеке, чтобы подготовиться к личной встрече. Но то, что человек постит в соцсетях, вряд ли может однозначно характеризовать его как сотрудника. Он может постить котиков и быть техническим директором. И что, я его из-за котиков не возьму? Только если мы компания, ненавидящая кошек. А может, он их постит, потому что ненавидит. Но, в любом случае, интересные и экспертные посты в соцсетях по теме — всегда плюс в пользу нестандартности и креатива.

Вы сами всегда с первого раза проходили собеседование и устраивались куда вам хотелось?

В России — да, так получилось, что я работу почти не искала. Все происходило само собой. В ЮКОС меня порекомендовали, «Северсталь» мне предложили, вот только «Марс» я нашла сама. Когда в американском филиале «Северстали» открылась вакансия, я поехала, решила увеличить свою степень свободы. В Штатах было непросто, но классно, и когда Алексей Мордашов продал все американские активы, я все равно решила остаться там, найти интересную вакансию. Конечно, я была избалована: в свои 33 я была вице-президентом по персоналу трех огромных заводов, совместных предприятий с профсоюзами, члены которых часто потом продвигались в администрацию Обамы. Была избалована сложными задачами, динамикой, сложнейшими переговорами и хотела себе похожую должность. А в США 33 года — возраст начинающего специалиста, который в лучшем случае будет заниматься маленьким проектиком. На собеседованиях там были приветливы, я им нравилась, они говорили «классно», но не верили, что в этом возрасте человек честным путем смог достичь такого успеха.

В чем отличия в HR-практик в США и в России?

Во время работы в Штатах я столкнулась с судебной практикой. В Америке засудить работодателя за все, что угодно — практика, популярная как чистка зубов с утра. Первый тренинг, который я прошла по приезде в США, проводил адвокат по трудовому праву, который на кейсах объяснил мне, как там все серьезно. Нельзя кого-то похлопать по плечу, или открыть женщине двери — и это не миф, или если три раза сказать комплимент и тебе не ответили взаимностью, то надо срочно остановиться, иначе это приравнивается к домогательству. Трудно переконвертировать мозг после России — здесь если женщина не получила на работе комплимента, считается, что день прошел зря.

Глубоко ли HR-специалист вникает в сферу, в которой работает? У вас была «Северсталь», а потом вдруг IT.

У меня был хороший мостик. В том, что в Mail.ru Group меня рассмотрели как кандидата на эту позицию, сыграл международный опыт. После того, как я вернулась в Россию, полтора года работала директором по инвестициям в HR и EDUTech-бизнесы, так что имела понятие об индустрии, сотрудниках, сложностях и т.д. Очень сложно просто так перейти из производственной компании в IT — это действительно два разных космоса.

Человек может постить котиков и быть техническим директором. И что, я его из-за котиков не возьму?

Каковы особенности структуры Mail.ru, отличаются ли сотрудники компании от коллег по отрасли?

Mail.ru Group — это 40 разных команд и созвездие брендов. В структуре очень важна синергия между командами. У нас очень много тематических субкультур, то есть, культура Вконтакте, Одноклассников, игровых студий, почты, Delivery Club, но всех объединяет практичность: все умные, свободные, быстрые, пробующие, смелые.

В Mail.ru Group есть такое явление: синдром новичка, когда он теряется в офисе и не доходит до своего рабочего места. С утра попил свежевыжатого сока, потом постриг бороду, позанимался спортом и посидел в массажном кресле, потом поучаствовал в квесте, сходил на день рождения какого-нибудь проекта, поиграл в приставку, потом в настолку, потом поспал, выпил кофе, зашел пообщаться с коллегами, а там уже обед из фуд-трака, а на десерт мороженое. Это иногда происходит с начинающими специалистами, у которых еще не развит навык самоорганизации. Мы всех об этом предупреждаем на ориентационном тренинге, ибо велик соблазн пользоваться всеми либеральными достоинствами офиса и потерять фокус на результат в работе. Вы видели наш офис?

О, да.

Все очень неформальные, свободные, и не потому, что молодые, а потому что самовыражаться здесь не запрещено. Во многих больших компаниях принято работать по инструкции, с дресс-кодом, с указания и согласования кучи служб и руководителей, а у нас каждый руководитель проекта самостоятелен и лично ответственен.

У нас проходит около 150 мероприятий в год, включая встречи профессиональных сообществ, дней рождений проектов, Летний корпоратив, Новый год, огромное количество спортивных мероприятий, праздников для семей сотрудников, день рождения компании и многое другое (это помимо 250 тренинговых мероприятий). Это тоже важно и улучшает коммуникацию среди сотрудников.

Многие ли стажеры из тех, что вы набираете из технических вузов, остаются здесь работать?

Мы специально обучаем больше студентов, чем нам нужно, это наша миссия, — развивать ИТ-образование в России, передать ребятам инновации из первых рук. Порядка 100 стажеров из потока мы берем в команду. На образовательных программах в 5 лучших технических вузах России преподают более 200 наших сотрудников, они же часто потом и берут самых хороших ребят в свой отдел. IT-сфера очень подвижная, все время появляются новые практики, поэтому фундаментальных знаний из вуза недостаточно.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Немного о будущем: какие компетенции прокачивать студентам сейчас, чтобы быть востребованным специалистом в дальнейшем?

Мне запомнился пример исследования от Superjob, где были опрошены специалисты из разных профессий: «Как вы думаете, когда вас заменят роботы?». Лидерами опроса были пекари, которые предположили, что булки скоро будут печь на 3D принтере. А водители считали, что их никто не заменит, несмотря на внедрение беспилотных машин. Сферы, где много интеллектуального труда и принятия решений, останутся — только инструменты будут меняться. Каждая индустрия диджитализируется, поэтому самой популярной профессией станет программист. Ну и специалист по Big Data.

Как судьба занесла вас в Вышку?

Вышка появилась у меня в жизни, потому что на факультете экономики училась моя сестра, и она мне порекомендавала поступать именно сюда. Тогда экономику так глубоко нигде не преподавали, я очень оценила этот подход и вуз в целом. Прекрасное было время. Несмотря на то что училась на вечернем, я успевала на студенческие активности: играла в театре, выступала на фестивалях, ходила в танцевальную студию, а потом стала работать в Вышке. Мой день представлял собой 24 часа из жизни Вышки. Сейчас я прихожу на кафедру управления человеческими ресурсами и рассказываю про профессию HR, потом вожу ребят из Вышки на экскурсию в Mail.ru Group. Еще я член попечительского совета и попечитель в эндаумент-фонде выдающихся выпускников Вышки, так что будем поощрять исследования, стажировки для одаренных вышкинцев. Я многое получила в Вышке, и теперь с удовольствием отдаю.

Все материалы рубрики