• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

 

Mikhail Rozin

Senior vice president and management board member at the Russian Regional Development Bank, Rozin is a 2006 graduate of the HSE Banking Institute’s MBA programme with a concentration in Finance and Banking.

Mikhail Rozin started as an associate with Guta-Bank in 1995, but by the time he left the company in 2005 he had become a vice president and the head of the department for equity and money market operations. He has also served as the CEO of Promsvyaz and Aton-Management. Since 2010, Rozin has served as a vice president at the Russian Regional Development Bank, where he is responsible for the bank’s investment policy in terms of investment portfolio management on the financial markets. In addition, Rozin is the head of the financial market department, the capital market department, and is the head of the bank’s analytics division.

«You can’t stop or else you’ll be forgotten»

Success Builder


About the project
«Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

Management specialists consider modern bank management to be one of the most difficult professional fields out there, especially in Russia, a country where the economy changes rapidly and forecasts are hard to come up with. At the same time, however, it is an incredibly interesting place to learn as you go, enter uncharted territory, and sometimes even break the rules. HSE Banking Institute graduate Mikhail Rozin, who is currently a senior vice president at the Russian Regional Development Bank, sat down with Success Builder to discuss what makes education in Russia just as good as in the West, how being a good actor can help you manage a bank, and why a banker became a flutist.

Did you always know you would one day work in banking?

No, but I came to HSE’s Finance and Banking MBA programme with 10 years of experience working at banks, and I had a clear picture of what I wanted and why I needed to be in this programme in particular.

What pushed you to continue your education?

I started working in the banking sector in 1994, and since then my work has focused on financial markets, trading, and asset management. I was a trader for a long time, which gave me some good experience. But while this experience can serve as a good foundation for professional growth, it is sometimes necessary to systematise this experience, acquire new knowledge, and obtain relevant information on modern trends in the business. This is why MBA programmes exist. Foreign programmes are definitely more prestigious, but if you want to learn, you shouldn’t put off your plans just because you don’t have the time or money to study abroad. You can also get an excellent, modern education in Moscow, and it’s a great place to improve your professional competencies. This was exactly why I decided to do the Finance and Banking MBA at HSE.

What exactly is the difference between an education in Russia and an education abroad?

A few years after HSE, I got into the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. Over the course of 13 months, I flew to Chicago several times and spent a total of two months there. Honestly, I don’t think that my experience was enough to make an objective comparison. The topic is worthy of researching more seriously though.

For me personally, both programmes were an excellent push for development, and they enriched my previous knowledge considerably. Of course, the quality of your education is important, but what’s more important is a person’s attitude and approach towards learning. You can go to some of the best universities in the world and take nothing from your studies, just like you can learn more than ever in some of the contemporary programmes that Russian universities offer. In addition, the business environment is more aggressive in the West, which is why specialists from the banking sector constantly have to keep moving, growing, and competing. In this sense, we have something to learn from them.

Any experience can be important in a manager’s career, and failures help form a leader just like successes do if a person is prepared to admit their mistakes and work on themselves

Have you ever worked for a larger international bank? This is typically an important factor for growth.

Unfortunately, I’ve never worked at a global financial organisation. This truly gives you a powerful boost forward, but there are countless other factors that help form highly qualified specialists, businessmen, and leaders. Everyone achieves his or her final result individually. I know a lot of professionals who have never worked at a global bank, and they are still capable of competing with their colleagues from abroad.

How important is it for a manager to have business experience and experience working with their own investments?

Everyone has to work with his or her own investments, no matter how large or small. As soon as you have what would be considered ‘extra savings,’ you immediately start searching for an investment idea. It might be simple, like depositing the money in a savings account, or it might be more complex, like investing in a business that brings you profit.

 

90%

is how much an MBA graduate’s salary increases around the world on average. In Russia, this figure is 150% given general career growth opportunities

Source

 

Almost the same thing happens on a professional level, but the size of investments and the level of responsibility are different. Experience running your own business, like any business experience, is helpful for managers. It helps them perceive things objectively, view tasks from different points of view, and more easily find common ground with clients and partners.

I’ve spent almost my entire professional career at banks and various companies working as a manager, but I remember that there was a period of time when I had decided to work on my own project. I realised rather quickly that I wasn’t ready for that work format and returned to something I was more used to. Any experience can be important in a manager’s career, and failures help form a leader just like successes do if a person is prepared to admit their mistakes and work on themselves. You also have to have personal qualities that allow you to transform your experience into individual or team-oriented successes.

If you have the internal qualities of a leader, maybe you don’t need to go back to school?

School is an integral part of success in today’s world. The banking business is particularly dynamic, and competition is fierce. Someone is always trying to get ahead of you, which is why you always have to be at your best. School systematises your thinking and gives you an emotional and intellectual spark. Even if you’re already really successful, you can’t submerge yourself in this comfort and calmness. This stops you from growing and makes you less interested in innovation. It slows down your reaction time. You can’t stop or else you’ll be forgotten.

How has education affected your work?

Education always shows you how theory works in practice. You take on a new view of ordinary things, and you think of untraditional solutions. New opportunities arise. Talking with teachers and students, exchanging your opinions, discussing the real-life successes and failures your classmates go through, dissecting cases containing examples of famous international companies – this all inspires you, expands your consciousness, and shakes up your work routine. Putting new knowledge into practice is of course a huge advantage, and if such an opportunity arises, you have to take advantage of it.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

Do you participate in your employees’ lives as far as career growth is concerned? Do you determine who gets the green light and who doesn’t?

Any team’s goal is to achieve results. Career growth will follow if you show commitment and achieve your objectives. The people who come work at a bank or company for no other reason than to make a career of it are ineffective in my opinion. You have to have the right motivation. You have to be engaged in what you’re doing. Career growth as a central professional goal – that’s not the right motivation, and this kind of person is of no use to the team. You also shouldn’t be afraid to save your team from demotivation as well.

There are always more people who deserve advancement than there are top positions, but if a person is capable and fully committed to their work and to achieving results, then this person should be viewed based on their professional qualities and not on the position itself. And you always have to find the opportunity to reward such individuals fairly. This is what I try to do as a manager.

Have you ever asked yourself if you’re doing the right thing?

I’ve been lucky in that regard. I love my job, and my track record suggests that I’m on the right path.

Which banking divisions in particular currently need young professionals most?

Young professionals with an excellent academic background and a fresh take on things are needed everywhere. What’s most important is that they have the desire to work, develop in different fields, and gain professional experience. It’s important to take advantage of the differences in how different generations think. Businesses always need creative and fresh solutions, even when a system is already well established and runs like clockwork. In order to keep up with modern trends, you have to understand where the new generation is headed. After all, this is the generation that will soon define both consumer demand and ideology.

To what extent is creativity valued in an industry as conservative as banking?

It’s hard to think of something in place of banking activity itself, but the format in which new products and services are sold is regularly being rethought, and this paves the way for constant innovation. Everything is now moving towards informational and financial technologies, which is why banks have to form their strategies by looking towards the future and taking into account the trends that are being formed. They also have to bring in professionals who come from the so-called ‘professions of the future.’

The people who come to work at a bank or company for no reason other than to make a career of it are ineffective in my opinion

As for the banking services market in Russia, what makes it different from the rest of the world?

I don’t see any fundamental differences here. Each country is unique and has its own legislation, but as concerns the services and the quality of a product, the approaches are the same everywhere. The market has been globalised for a while, and the things that are in demand spread across the world very quickly. Banks all over the globe are quick to copy one another’s successes, and this is a factor in winning the battle for clients. If there is something unique here, it lies in philosophy, culture, and the national mentality. This is the same for any business.

Do you try to share your knowledge and experience with the younger generation?

I am always ready to share my experience, especially since there are a lot of interesting events that have taken place in the modern history of financial markets. But my audience is limited to my colleagues, and because of that, the process of sharing and exchanging experiences is always mutual. If we are talking about a broader audience, then not everyone is prepared for the role of mentor and teacher. You have to have not only knowledge, but also talent to go along with it so that you can keep an audience’s attention for several hours. I don’t think business lectures are really my calling.

What if a businessman were to take acting classes?

Why not… Sometimes a person just needs practice. An instructor is like an actor on stage, and he or she must keep the room in suspense. It’s like a theatre of a single actor. But yes, acting classes would certainly be helpful, and not only for giving lectures. The work of a manager is always to talk to people, and they have to be able to take advantage of different situations to present certain qualities that will be most helpful in solving a problem, all while factoring in the ‘artistic material’ being presented and taking into consideration the characteristics of the audience.

In fact, on my second day at the University of Chicago, they took our entire group, which consisted of students from all over the world, to the university’s theatre. We took an acting class and were then broken up into smaller groups. Each person had a specific role, and each group put on a short play for our classmates. Despite the huge amount of stress everyone was under, especially me, everyone got along. This ended up being one of the most effective and memorable classes I’ve had.

How do you unwind outside of work?

Nothing reenergises you quite like taking a good, long nap or spending time with family. Something else that helps me recharge is yoga, and I also play the flute, which airs out the lungs and mind. The musical vibrations also help calm my nerves.

Other ‘Success Builder’ Stories

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

 

Михаил Розин

Старший вице-президент, член правления Всероссийского банка развития регионов, выпускник программы MBA «Финансы и банки» 2006 года (реализуется Банковским институтом НИУ ВШЭ).

Начинал в 1995 году в «Гута-банке» со специалиста, а в 2005 году ушел вице-президентом, директором департамента операций на фондовом и денежном рынках. Был гендиректором в компании «Промсвязь» и УК «АТОН-менеджмент». С 2010 года работает вице-президентом в ВБРР, где, в частности, отвечает за инвестиционную политику банка в области управления инвестиционными портфелями на финансовых рынках, курирует деятельность Департамента финансовых рынков и Департамента рынка капиталов, а также аналитического блока банка.

«Никогда нельзя останавливаться, иначе про тебя забудут»

Конструктор успеха


О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

Управление современным банком специалисты по менеджменту считают одной из самых сложных профессий. Особенно в России, где экономика стремительно меняется, где строить прогнозы трудно, но в то же время захватывающе интересно учиться в процессе работы. Выпускник Банковского института Вышки старший вице-президент банка ВБРР (Всероссийского банка развития регионов) Михаил Розин рассказал в «Конструкторе успеха», почему образование в России не хуже, чем на Западе, как актерское мастерство помогает в руководстве банком и зачем банкиру играть на флейте.

Вы всегда знали, что будете работать в банке?

Нет, но в Вышку на программу MBA «Финансы и банки» я пошел, имея за плечами 10-летний опыт работы в банках и точно понимая, что я хочу и зачем мне нужна именно эта программа.

Что послужило толчком к получению дополнительного образования?

Я начал карьеру в банковской сфере в 1994 году, с тех пор моя работа связана с финансовыми рынками, трейдингом, управлением активами. Долгое время я был трейдером и приобрел хороший опыт, и хотя именно опыт является основой профессионального роста, время от времени возникает потребность в его систематизации, приобретении новых знаний и получении актуальной информации о современных тенденциях в различных сегментах бизнеса. Для этого, на мой взгляд, и существуют программы MBA. Безусловно, более статусными являются зарубежные программы, но если есть желание учиться, а возможности потратить средства или время на учебу за рубежом нет, то не стоит откладывать свои планы. В Москве тоже можно получить качественные и современные знания и повысить профессиональные компетенции. Я рассудил именно так, поэтому пошел на программу MBA «Финансы и банки» в Вышке.

Все же, о разнице западного и отечественного: в чем она?

Через несколько лет после Вышки я поступил на программу бизнес-школы Чикагского университета Chicago Booth School of Business. В течении 13 месяцев я несколько раз летал в Чикаго, проведя там в общей сложности около двух месяцев — честно, не думаю, что моего опыта достаточно для объективного сравнения. Хотя тема заслуживает отдельного серьезного исследования.

Лично для меня обе программы стали отличным стимулом для развития и существенно обогатили мои знания. Конечно, качество преподавания важно, но куда важнее отношение человека к учебе — можно ничего не вынести даже из топовых университетов мира и наоборот, взять максимум из хороших современных программ российских университетов. Еще на Западе бизнес-среда более агрессивная, поэтому специалистам из банковской отрасли постоянно нужно двигаться, расти, конкурировать. В этом смысле нам есть чему у них поучиться.

В карьере руководителя важен любой опыт, и неудачи формируют лидеров также, как и успехи, если человек готов признавать свои ошибки и работать над собой

Был ли у вас опыт работы в крупных международных банках? Как правило, это является фактором роста, и весьма важным.

В глобальных финансовых структурах я, к сожалению, не работал. Это действительно мощно продвигает вперед, но и помимо этого существует много других факторов, которые формируют высококвалифицированных специалистов, бизнесменов и лидеров. Конечный результат достигается каждым человеком индивидуально. Я знаком с множеством профессионалов, которые никогда не работали в глобальных банках, но они могут составить ощутимую конкуренцию своим коллегам из-за рубежа.

Насколько важен бизнес-опыт и работа с собственными инвестициями в карьере руководителя?

С собственными инвестициями — разного уровня — приходится работать всем: как только появляется свободная сумма денег, которая воспринимается как личные сбережения, сразу начинается поиск инвестиционной идеи. Она может быть простая: положить деньги на депозит, а может быть более сложная — вложить в дело, которое принесет прибыль.

 

На 90%

в среднем вырастает зарплата выпускника MBA в мире, в России — в полтора раза, при условии карьерного роста

Источник

 

На профессиональном уровне происходит примерно то же, но суммы инвестиций и степень ответственности другие. Опыт ведения собственного бизнеса, как и любой деловой опыт, полезен для руководителей. Помогает более объективно воспринимать действительность, рассматривать задачи с разных точек зрения и легче находить взаимопонимание с клиентами и партнерами.

Я почти всю свою профессиональную жизнь работаю в банках и компаниях как наемный менеджер, но, помню, был период, когда я решил заняться собственным проектом. Довольно быстро понял, что на тот момент я был не готов к такому формату работы и вернулся в более привычную среду. Но в карьере руководителя важен любой опыт, и неудачи формируют лидеров также, как и успехи, если человек готов признавать свои ошибки и работать над собой. Нужно также обладать внутренними качествами, позволяющими трансформировать полученный опыт в личные или командные успехи.

Если у вас, к примеру, есть внутренние качества лидера — может, и не нужно учиться?

Учеба — неотъемлемое составляющая успеха в современном мире. А банковский бизнес особенно динамичен, конкуренция высокая, тебя постоянно кто-то старается обойти, поэтому всегда нужно быть в тонусе. Учеба систематизирует мышление, дает эмоциональный и интеллектуальный всплеск. Даже если ты очень успешен, нельзя погружаться в комфорт и покой, это мешает развиваться, снижает интерес к инновациям, замедляет реакцию. Никогда нельзя останавливаться, иначе про тебя забудут.

Как образование повлияло на вашу работу?

Это всегда примерка теории к практике. Возникает искра. Появляется новый взгляд на привычные вещи, приходят нестандартные решения, открываются дополнительные возможности. Общение с преподавателями и студентами, обмен мнениями, обсуждение реальных историй успехов и провалов твоих одногруппников, разбор кейсов на примерах известных международных компаний — все это вдохновляет, расширяет сознание, «взрывает» твою рабочую рутину. Применять на практике только что полученные знания — это, конечно, большое преимущество, и если есть такая возможность — этим надо пользоваться.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Вы участвуете в жизни сотрудников с точки зрения карьерного роста, определяете, кому включить зеленый свет, а кому нет?

Цель командной работы — результат. А карьерный рост приложится, если есть самоотдача и достижение поставленных целей. По моему мнению, те, кто приходят в банк или в компанию только ради того, чтобы сделать карьеру, не эффективны. Должна быть правильная мотивация, нужно быть увлеченным тем, что ты делаешь. Карьерный рост, как основная профессиональная цель, это неправильная мотивация, и пользу команде такой человек не принесет. И не надо бояться спасти свою команду от демотивации.

Людей, которые достойны продвижения, всегда больше, чем высоких должностей. Но если человек компетентен и занимается своим делом с полной отдачей, выкладывается для достижения результата, то и отношение к нему должно строиться не по занимаемой должности, а по профессиональным качествам, и нужно находить возможность для справедливого вознаграждения таких людей — так стараюсь делать я как руководитель.

Вы задумывались когда-нибудь: а тем ли я занимаюсь?

С этим мне в жизни повезло. Я люблю свою работу. И мой track record вроде бы подсказывает, что я иду своим путем.

Какие подразделения банка больше всего сейчас нуждается в молодых специалистах?

Везде нужны молодые специалисты с высоким уровнем академической подготовки и свежим взглядом. Главное, чтобы у новичков было желание работать, самосовершенствоваться в разных областях, получать профессиональный опыт. Разницу между мышлением разных поколений — старожилов и неофитов — нужно использовать для получения хороших результатов. Бизнесу всегда нужны креативные решения и свежий воздух, даже когда система уже хорошо настроена и работает как часы. Чтобы не отстать от современных тенденций, нужно понимать, куда движется новое поколение, ведь скоро именно оно будет определять и покупательский спрос, и идеологию.

Насколько креатив приемлем в такой консервативной отрасли, как банки?

Сам по себе смысл банковской деятельности поменять сложно. Но то, в каком формате продавать услуги, а также новые сервисы и продукты, нужно регулярно придумывать заново, а это постоянный мозговой штурм. Сейчас все уходит в сферу информационных и финансовых технологий, поэтому банки должны формировать свои стратегии глядя в будущее, учитывая формирующиеся тренды и активно привлекая специалистов из разряда «профессий будущего».

Те, кто приходят в банк или в компанию только ради того, чтобы сделать карьеру, не эффективны

Если говорить о рынке банковских услуг в России, в чем его особая специфика и отличие от зарубежного?

Принципиальных отличий я не вижу. В каждой стране есть своя специфика и особенности законодательства, но с точки зрения набора сервисов и качества продуктов подходы везде одинаковые. Рынок давно стал глобальным и то, что пользуется спросом у клиентов, распространяется по всему миру очень быстро. Банки по всему миру быстро копируют друг у друга любой положительный опыт и это один из факторов эффективности и успеха в борьбе за клиентов. Если специфика есть, то она скорее философского толка, и заключена в культуре и национальном менталитете. Так же, как в любом бизнесе.

Не стремитесь передать свои знания, поделиться опытом с молодежью?

Всегда готов поделиться опытом, тем более современная история финансовых рынков богата интересными событиями. Но моя аудитория ограничивается коллегами по работе, и в этом случае обмен опытом — всегда взаимный процесс. А если говорить о более широкой аудитории, то не каждый человек подходит на роль наставника и учителя для молодежи. Нужно обладать не только знаниями, но и соответствующим талантом, чтобы удерживать внимание аудитории несколько часов. Мне кажется, что бизнес-лекции — это не мое призвание.

А если бизнесмену пройти курсы актерского мастерства?

Почему бы и нет. Порой человеку нужно только потренироваться. Преподаватель как актер на сцене, должен держать зал в напряжении, это как театр одного актера, и курсы актерского мастерства будут точно полезны, и не только для чтения лекций. Работа руководителя — это всегда общение с людьми и в разных жизненных ситуациях нужно уметь представить на «сцене» те или иные качества, которые будут максимально полезны для решения поставленной задачи с учетом представляемого «художественного материала» и особенностей зрительного зала.

Кстати, на второй день обучения в Чикаго всю нашу многонациональную группу привели в университетский театр и после урока актерского мастерства разбили на малые группы. Каждой группе поставили определенные сценические задачи, и мы разыгрывали для своих одногруппников небольшие спектакли. И несмотря на колоссальный стресс, который испытали все, и я в особенности, все сошлись во мнении, что это было одним из самых эффективных и запоминающихся занятий.

Как вы отдыхаете от работы?

Ничто так не восстанавливает силы, как хороший долгий сон или время в кругу семьи. Еще занимаюсь йогой — помогает перезагружаться. Играю на флейте — воздух хорошо проветривает легкие и мозг, а музыкальные вибрации приводят в порядок нервы.

Все материалы рубрики