• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

About the project «Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

After graduating from HSE University, Dmitry Borisov and Yury Goldberg followed different paths. Dmitry built a career at KPMG and Deloitte while Yury became an entrepreneur. They joined forces in 2016 to launch a business. How did they manager to ‘Uberfy’ the chaotic home remodeling and construction market? Has it been difficult helping people overcome their aversion to remodeling? What’s the point in helping your alma mater? They answered these questions and more in an interview with the HSE portal.

How did you start working together?

Yury: It’s just that HSE chooses only the best – those who are inspired to succeed.

Dmitry: We studied in different faculties, but mutual friends introduced us in 2014. The atmosphere at HSE is such that groups of students form according to common interests and goals. As with any good school or university, you have to pass through a demanding preliminary selection process. It took me two years just to get into HSE. But it you manage to get accepted into this community, you are surrounded by people with certain views and values, to which HSE adds its own. And this continues when you become part of the alumni community.

Why did you want to come to HSE in particular?

Dmitry: I had a simple goal — to find a way out of my hometown, Ryazan, and get to a new level. I began working during my third year of studies and found that holding down a job in a new city makes you stronger. In my fourth year, I got a job at KPMG and gradually began to understand where my career was headed and the reason behind my studies. But I also understood that it wouldn’t be possible to continue combining work and study.

Yury: I didn’t have a specific goal. When I was in the ninth grade, my parents transferred me to a different school where it was harder to be the same straight ‘A’ student I had been. This was a blow to my ego, but it also helped me recognize my potential for growth. I wound up in the school’s economics track and chose HSE simply because it was the best university for economics. But it wasn’t until I was already finishing up my bachelor’s degree that I appreciated what this education had given me.

Dmitry, before you opened your business, you had managed to climb fairly high on the career ladder. Which is more important for a career — work experience or academic training?

Dmitry: Most important is the ability to learn and be flexible in acquiring new skills. If, right now, I were to go head-to-head against an upperclassman in a battle of knowledge, I would definitely lose in every category because I have forgotten so much. But I have gained applied knowledge of how the world works.

I have already put all of my acquired knowledge through the ‘meat grinder’ of practical experience and developed a good sense of how things work

Knowledge is great in itself, but at some level, you realize that you only know how something is done in theory. A university provides a broad education, something you couldn’t get on your own. It comes from communicating with others, the general atmosphere, your personal experiences. What’s more, 80% of all people are simply unable to study on their own.

Yury, why didn’t you continue your academic career after graduate school?

Yury: I was not a super-talented student. I did well, but I wasn’t ready to devote myself completely to science. However, I was full of ideas and implemented a number of projects: I was a co-founder of the Quadro investment company, the founder of the NSKA (apartments under construction) company, and the creator of the NSKA Novostroika investment fund.

At what point did you decide to stop working for ‘the man’?

Yury: It was the last year of my master’s studies. I teamed up with other HSE students to create an investment company. I specialized in financial and stock markets and we developed contacts among brokers. We also had trading experience, so we got our start mainly through networking, and it was very successful. However, because of the 2008 crisis, all of our efforts came to nothing.

How did your career begin, Dmitry?

Dmitry: I didn’t take the risk of starting my own business. I spent two years at KPMG, then went to Deloitte, and next to the A&NN Group where my career advanced for seven years. I was comfortable in the corporate environment. I thrived in that atmosphere, developed a number of useful contacts and got good at making deals and working with companies. But then, some people came into the picture and I had difficulty working with them, so I decided to quit. I began wondering what I should do and my friends offered advice. Because most of them were entrepreneurs, I leaned towards taking a risk. I opened a Sunlight jewelry franchise in one of Russia’s regions. Honestly, I didn’t like it much: it was definitely a step backward, especially in terms of the amount of information I had to process. I was overcome by a deep desire to go after something more interesting and creative. It was then that Yury proposed the idea of teaming up on an NSKA project in a new format — for developers.

Starting a business always entails operating outside of your comfort zone. How did you cope with all of the headaches and challenges?

Dmitry: Of course, if you’re used to sitting in a chair and receiving a big paycheck on the first of every month — and a bonus at year’s end — then, of course, it would be tough to endure the hardships. But I was already outside of my comfort zone when I made this decision and that’s why I didn’t stress over it. I made my choice and there was no going back. I had no choice but to dive into and deal with the risk of entrepreneurship.

Yury: Our situation was not the easiest because we had been working in completely different areas before we launched Rewedo. Then we started projects in a field in which we had no prior experience at all — construction and home remodeling. But we were hooked on the idea and decided to try it. The initial stage of starting a business turned out to be hardest. It required a certain amount of courage. And not all of our projects took off: we also lost money, but we gained invaluable experience.

What was your first joint project?

Yury: We started out offering construction insurance. But the laws changed, as often happens in Russia, and we had to leave that market.

Dmitry: A state fund handles construction insurance now. However, we managed to develop certain business processes in this field. As a result, we saw a new niche that we decided to enter.

The construction market in Russia is chaotic and terrifying. How did you find the courage to plunge into it?

Yury: Actually, that’s just what we were thinking — that we’d make money if we could bring order to the chaos. In the home remodeling business, the middleman has a profit margin of more than 50%. So, we created the “Uber” for people who want to remodel their homes. We brought the client and contractor together.

Under the Rewedo brand, we united private remodeling contractors, offered their services to clients, and assumed responsibility for the quality of their work.

We simply made a product that anyone can understand and offered it at the same standard of quality that is customary in many other fields. Now, when someone decides to remodel, he doesn’t have to pull his hair out or worry about getting cheated or swindled, and so on. Everything has been put into an orderly service where, right from the start, it’s clear how much everything costs and who will pay for delays or cost overruns.

Did you study the market in order to offer a systematized product?

Dmitry: No, we didn’t do anything like that. We just saw that the customer has a pressing need and created a product to meet that need. The customer needs deadlines, detailed estimates, and standardized and clear procedures. He needs someone to take responsibility for all of the bedlam involved. Everyone is wary of being cheated. We tried to make the process clear and transparent, fulfilling every customer’s dream. This approach is sorely lacking in the home remodeling market.

Yury: If you type ‘remodel a two-bedroom apartment’ into a Yandex search, the dozens of ads that appear are all from middlemen who offer services but take no responsibility for the result. That’s like posting an ad with a detailed description of your personal merits without offering any proof or guarantees to back it up.

In addition to Rewedo, you have a project called Rerooms. How are they different?

Dmitry: Whereas Rewedo helps find a home remodeling crew, Rerooms does the same thing, but with a narrower focus on design and décor. The client opens a personal account and orders services according to certain parameters. We find a work crew to carry it out, create a clear and detailed estimate of the work, make it possible for the client to track their progress, and so on.

Yury: Rerooms is almost all online. We break the entire design project down into blocks in an online system. These include deadlines and the various stages — taking measurements, the brief, planning, iterations, time spans for each stage, the terms of reference for draftsmen and designers, the shopping list, the actual components to be installed, work estimate, and so on. We have more than 500 artists, draftspeople and designers working for Rerooms. This is a more complex project than Rewedo technically. It involves more details and processes that the client can monitor online at all times.

Are all 500 people working in the office?

Yury: We have a permanent staff of about 60 who are responsible for IT development and for bringing all the components together. After all, Rerooms also has an internal store for design and remodeling. The rest of the staff work through the platform.

Dmitry: The main idea of Rerooms is that it enables the customer to meet all of his or her home improvement needs in one place, from design and repairs to the purchase of furniture, décor elements, lighting fixtures, etc. It saves clients an enormous amount of time that they might otherwise have spent on a helter-skelter search for home improvement services and products.

Our goal is that, when confronted with the enormity of the challenge, the client does not give up, but understands that it’s actually possible to do everything!

We also created a marketplace with different categories of products: furniture, floor coverings, lighting fixtures, windows, doors, etc. Customers can buy everything in one place with the help of an online assistant or by using algorithms that select the best products based on their stated preferences.

How did you get into this field in the first place? How did you develop the initial concept? You must have had help from consultants.

Yury: We developed everything ourselves and found the cheapest ways to attract clients through Rewedo. First, we simply had the idea, and that later grew into the separate Rerooms project that was designed to lower the cost of home remodeling. It was continually refined through our interactions with customers. We repeatedly found niches to fill. Then we discovered that there were no analogous companies in Russia — although there are such companies in other countries that are valued at more than $1 billion. Tubatu in China is one example.

How much investment is required for projects that are so technically complex like Rewedo — and the even more sophisticated Rerooms?

Yury: It took us a long time to come up with the best business model. We went through several trial versions of Rewedo. In the process of testing each one through trial and error — without which no business project can succeed — we came to a clear understanding of the goal. Our first attemps were called SvoiTender and Priceremont. We went through several names. Two years and approximately 20 million rubles went into developing Rewedo. We launched Rerooms in May 2018 with help from an angel investor. About 60 million rubles has gone into that project and it continues to develop.

Dmitry: We have invested a lot in order to grow faster and find the optimal economic balance through trial and error. In the current stage, we are no longer in the process of checking figures or ideas, but of multiplying — the cost of attracting customers, income per unit, and scaling the business. This requires another level of investment, but at this stage, the project is honed and polished and you know that everything will work perfectly. The investment is justified and it is easy to calculate the returns.

You are both members of the HSE Donors Club. Do you feel obliged to thank the university?

Dmitry: It’s necessary to help in order to have high-quality education in Russia.

Yury: As you can see from Dmitry and myself, there are different paths to self-realization. Like many students who take jobs during their studies, Dmitry wound up in a big company. I have never worked in a corporation. Today’s students need to understand that all of us who have achieved anything started out as HSE students just like them.

We trust the people who created the university’s endowment fund and we know that they want to see the university develop. This project has a real purpose. After graduating from HSE we realized that it might not be the best university in the world, but it is definitely the most advanced in Moscow. HSE University uses an entirely new format to educate its students and help them develop their thinking. When we give money to HSE’s development, we know that it goes to new scholarships, libraries and buildings.

О проекте «Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

Дмитрий и Юрий, основатели компаний Rewedo и Rerooms, после окончания Вышки пошли разными путями. Первый строил карьеру в KPMG и Deloitte, второй ушел в предпринимательство. В 2016 году они основали совместный бизнес. Как им удалось «уберизировать» хаотичный рынок ремонта и строительства, трудно ли научить людей не бояться ремонта и почему стоит помогать родному университету – об этом они рассказали в интервью порталу.

Как вы начали работать вместе?

Юрий: Просто в Вышку отбирают лучших и заряженных на успех.

Дмитрий: Мы учились на разных факультетах, но общие друзья познакомили нас в 2014 году. В Вышке формируется благотворная среда ребят с похожими интересами и целями. Как в любом хорошем вузе или школе ты должен пройти сложный предварительный отбор. Я потратил два года, чтобы просто поступить в Вышку. Если ты попал в это сообщество, то тебя окружают люди с определенными взглядами и ценностями, на которые Вышка к тому же нанизывает свои. Потом эта среда тебя держит уже в рамках сообщества выпускников.

Почему стремились именно в сюда?

Дмитрий: У меня была простая цель — вырваться из родного города, Рязани, выйти на другой этап. На третьем курсе я начал работать — жизнь в чужом городе закаляет. На четвертом курсе устроился в KPMG и потихоньку стал понимать, куда движется моя карьера и для чего я вообще учусь. Правда, также стало понятно, что дальше совмещать работу и учебу не получится.

Юрий: У меня не было определенной цели. В 9 классе родители перевели меня в другую школу – я был отличником, и с меня нужно было «сбить спесь», чтобы почувствовал потенциал для роста. Я оказался в экономическом классе. А Вышка — самый продвинутый экономический вуз, тогда я ее выбрал только по этой причине, а сама оценка знаний уже пришла к концу бакалавриата.

Дмитрий, до того, как открыть свой бизнес, вы успели высоко продвинуться по карьерной лестнице. Что важнее для карьеры — опыт или академический багаж?

Дмитрий: Умение учиться и быть гибким в получении новых навыков. Если мне сейчас вступить в научный баттл со старшеклассником, я, конечно, проиграю по всем статьям, потому что уже ничего не помню. Зато у меня есть прикладное понимание о том, как устроен мир.

Все знания я уже пропустил через «мясорубку» практики и понял, что к чему и как работает

Знания сами по себе — классно. Но на определенном уровне понимаешь: ты просто знаешь, «как это делать». Вуз дает тебе общую эрудицию. Это мировоззрение никак не приобрести самостоятельно: оно входит в тебя через общение, социализацию, атмосферу, личные истории. К тому же 80% людей просто не способны учиться сами.

Юрий, почему вы не продолжили академическую карьеру после магистратуры?

Юрий: У меня в принципе не было блестящих талантов. Я хорошо учился, но полностью посвятить себя науке не был готов. Зато у меня имелось множество идей, и я реализовывал разные проекты – был одним из учредителей инвестиционной компании Quadro, основателем компании НСКА (страхование незавершенного строительства жилья), создателем инвестиционного фонда НСКА «Новостройки».

На каком этапе вы решили не работать «на дядю»?

Юрий: Это было на последнем курсе магистратуры. С ребятами из Вышки мы сделали инвестиционную компанию, я тогда специализировался на финансовых и фондовых рынках, появлялись контакты среди брокеров. Плюс мы имели опыт торгов, так что стартовали в основном на нетворкинге, и очень успешно. Однако кризис 2008 года превратил все труды в ноль.

Дмитрий, с чего началась ваша карьера?

Дмитрий: Я не брал на себя риск предпринимательской деятельности. Два года отработал в KPMG, потом перешел в Deloitte, далее в A&NN Group, где успешно рос семь лет. Мне было комфортно в корпоративной среде, я покрутился в этой атмосфере, набрал полезных контактов, прокачался по сделкам и компаниям. На определенном этапе появились люди, с которыми не сложились рабочие отношения, и я решил уволиться.  Начал думать: чем заняться, друзья со всех сторон давали советы. Поскольку большинство из них — предприниматели, то я склонился к риску и открыл магазин «Sunlight» по франшизе в одном из регионов. Честно говоря, мне это не доставило большого удовольствия – получился явный «даун грейдинг», особенно по уровню информации, которой нужно было забивать голову. Одолевало внутренне желание зацепиться за более интересную и творческую историю. Тут Юрий и предложил мне реализовать совместный проект НСКА в новом формате – для застройщиков.

Предпринимательство — всегда выход из зоны комфорта. Как вы справлялись с тем, что пришлось наступать на грабли и набивать шишки?

Дмитрий: Конечно, если ты привык сидеть в кресле и получать большие деньги первого числа каждого месяца, а в конце года — бонус, то будет тяжело. Я в тот момент уже был вне зоны комфорта и стресса не испытал. Сделал выбор, путь назад закрыт. Пришлось нырять в предпринимательские риски и смириться с этим.

Юрий: Наша ситуация была непростой, ведь до запуска Rewedo мы занимались совсем другими вещами. И тут начали делать проекты в сферах, в которых вообще не разбирались – в строительстве, ремонте. Просто зацепились за идею и решили попробовать. Это оказалось самым сложным в начале предпринимательской карьеры. Потребовалось определенное мужество. Да и не все наши проекты выстрелили, мы потеряли в деньгах, но приобрели бесценный опыт.

В какой сфере был ваш первый совместный проект?

Юрий: Страхование в строительстве. Но изменилось законодательство (в нашей стране так случается) — и пришлось уйти с рынка.

Дмитрий: Сейчас строительным страхованием занимается государственный фонд. Но мы успели наработать в этой сфере определенные бизнес-процессы и увидели новую нишу, в которой нам захотелось реализоваться впоследствии.

Рынок строительства в России — это хаос и террор. Как вы рискнули туда окунуться?

Юрий: Вот как раз мы и подумали, что можно заработать, если навести порядок среди хаоса. Если говорить о ремонте, то сейчас комиссия посредника составляет более 50%. И мы создали “убер” для тех, кто хочет сделать ремонт. Подружили клиента с исполнителем.

Под брендом Rewedo мы объединили сторонние бригады, предложили их услуги клиенту – и взяли на себя ответственность за качество их услуг

Просто сделали продукт, понятный любому человеку, предложив уровень стандарта этого продукта, как принято во многих других сферах. Теперь при слове «ремонт» можно не хвататься за голову в ожидании, что тебя кинут, нагреют и т. п. Все оформилось в упорядоченный сервис, где с самого начала понятно, что сколько стоит и кто ответит за косяки.

Вы изучили рынок, чтобы выдать конкретный систематизированный продукт?

Дмитрий: Ничего такого мы не делали. Просто увидели острую потребность клиента и создали продукт. Потребителю нужны сроки, подробные сметы, стандартизированные и понятные процедуры. Ему важно, чтобы за весь бедлам был ответственный. Любой человек боится, что его обманут. Мы постарались сделать процессы прозрачными и понятными, тем самым воплотив мечту заказчика – такого подхода на рынке ремонта остро не хватает.

Юрий: Если вы в Яндексе забьете «ремонт двухкомнатной квартиры», то десятки объявлений, которые вы увидите, будут от посредников. То есть те, кто предлагают услуги, не несут ответственности за конечный результат. Это как повесить объявление с подробным описанием личных заслуг – и никаких подтверждений или гарантий.

Помимо Rewedo у вас есть проект Rerooms. В чем между ними разница?

Дмитрий: Если Rewedo помогает искать команды на ремонт, то Rerooms делает то же самое, только уже в более узкой области дизайна и отделки. Клиент заводит личный кабинет и по предложенным параметрам заказывает услугу — мы находим ему бригаду исполнителей, составляем открытую и подробную смету работ, можно отслеживать этапы их проведения и т. п.

Юрий: В случае с Rerooms почти нет оффлайновой части. Все создание дизайн-проекта мы разложили по кубикам в онлайн-системе. Время исполнения, этапы – замер, бриф, планировка, итерации, время на каждый этап, ТЗ для чертежников и визуализаторов, шопинг-лист, комплектации, смета на ремонт и т.д. На платформе Rerooms у нас работает более 500 человек: художники, чертежники, дизайнеры. С технической точки зрения этот проект сложнее, чем Rewedo. Здесь больше деталей и процессов, доступных в онлайне для постоянного контроля.

Все 500 человек работают в офисе?

Юрий: У нас есть постоянный коллектив — около 60 человек, которые занимаются IT-разработкой и комплектацией товара, ведь у нас на Rerooms есть еще и внутренний магазин для дизайна и ремонта. Остальные просто пользуются платформой.

Дмитрий: Основная идея проекта Rerooms в том, чтобы человек всю свою потребность в обустройстве жилья, которая начинается с дизайна, потом переходит в ремонт, в покупку мебели, декора, света и т. п., мог удовлетворить в одном месте. Это решение всех вопросов с дизайном жилья в формате одного окна. Высвобождается огромное количество времени, которое клиент мог бы потратить на разрозненный поиск услуг или товаров в этом сегменте.

Наша цель — чтобы клиент, увидев масштаб челленджа, не передумал, а понял: это реально!

Мы создали также и маркетплейс с товарами в разных категориях: мебель, напольные покрытия, свет, окна, двери. Все это человек может купить в одном месте с помощью онлайн-помощников или и алгоритмов, которые подбирают для него товары по введенным параметрам.

Расскажите, как вы вникали в эту сферу. Как разрабатывали идею, концепт? Наверное, вам помогали консультанты.

Юрий: Мы разрабатывали все сами, искали более дешевые каналы привлечения клиентов в рамках Rewedo. Сначала просто возникла идея, которая потом переросла в самостоятельный проект Rerooms, призванный снизить издержки на ремонт. Все происходило в процессе общения с клиентом. Мы постоянно находили ниши, которые можно закрыть. И когда мы начали анализировать рынок, искать похожие компании, то обнаружили, что в России нет подобного проекта. Но в мире есть крупные компании со стоимостью больше миллиарда долларов. Например, в Китае – такие как Тubatu.

Каких вложений требует такой технически сложный проект, как Rewedo и еще более сложный – Rerooms?

Юрий: Мы долго шли к правильной модели. До Rewedo у нас было несколько пробных вариантов, и в процессе тестирования мы методом проб и ошибок— а без этого невозможен ни один успешных бизнес-проект — пришли к пониманию целей. До этого мы проверяли свои возможности на проектах «СвойТендер» и Priceremont. Мы несколько раз меняли название. На это ушло два года жизни и около 20 млн вложений в Rewedo. В мае 2018-го года мы запустили Rerooms — для него нашелся бизнес-ангел. В последний проект уже вложено около 60 млн, и он продолжает развиваться.

Дмитрий: Мы вкладывали достаточно много для того, чтобы быстрее вырасти и методом проб и ошибок найти оптимальный экономический баланс. На текущем этапе мы находимся в процессе уже не проверки каких-то цифр и идей, а умножения на мультипликаторы – стоимость привлечения клиентов, доход по unit-экономике и масштабирование. Это требует другого уровня вложений, но на этапе, когда проект отточен и отшлифован, ты знаешь — все будет работать отлично. Вложения оправданы, и выгоду легко просчитать.

Вы оба состоите в Клубе дарителей Вышки. Вы считаете нужным говорить «спасибо» университету?

Дмитрий: Чтобы в России было качественное образование, ему нужно помогать.

Юрий: Есть разные пути к самореализации, и наш с Димой опыт это показывает. Он, как и большинство студентов, еще во время учебы попал в крупную компанию. Я же никогда не работал в корпорации. Нынешним студентам надо понимать, что все, кто чего-то добился, когда-то были такими же студентами Вышки.

Мы доверяем людям, которые создали эндаумент-фонд и знаем, что они заинтересованы в развитии университета. Этот проект — не очередная ширма.

Закончив Вышку, мы осознали: если это не самый лучший универ в мире, то самый передовой – в Москве. ВШЭ дает совершенно новый формат знаний и мышления. Когда мы выделяем деньги на развитие Вышки, мы знаем, они пойдут на новые стипендии, библиотеки и корпуса.