• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
visionusersearch

 

Ekaterina Frolova

One of the founders of CitYkids, a chain of children’s centres.

Graduated with honours from the HSE International College of Economics and Finance (ICEF) in 2012, receiving the Best Graduate 2012 award. She is an active participate in HSE’s student life, serving as a member of Ingroup STS, the chairperson of the ICEF Student Academic Council, and the head of the charity ICEF — Outreach.

Ekaterina Frolova completed an internship at Skolkovo business school in 2011 before attending the management programme at London’s Imperial College Business School in 2012, graduating with honours. In 2013, she cofounded the company CitYkids, a network of family recreation centres that uses a unique development method for infants, including new-borns.

«Having your own business is a daily source of motivation»

Success Builder


About the project
«Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

Starting your own business is usually a good thing, but it’s very scary, especially for someone with an honours diploma and a promising future in finance. Ekaterina Frolova, an ICEF alumna and the founder of CitYkids, a chain of children's centres, tells Success Builder why she forewent a career as a bank clerk to work with children, how to provide young moms with leisure time, and what motivates happy people.

How did it come about that after receiving an honours diploma from HSE, you started working with babies?

At a certain stage in their careers, the majority of women drop everything to have a baby, which isn’t surprising for anyone. The only difference is that I work with other people's babies. Really, I always wanted to work with children. My mother is a paediatrician, which is what I always wanted to be growing up, but my mom talked me out of it.

When I was making a final decision on whether or not to find a job at a bank, I knew that all of ICEF was already working in offices. Getting a job in your field is easy after graduating from HSE.

I went to HSE's ICEF because I think it's necessary to have basic management and economics skills in any job, especially those related to entrepreneurship. I was personally drawn to having my own business, that is CitYkids, because it not only allows you to work with children, but it is also a way to do a lot of different things at the same time, like manage a team and develop a business the way I think it should be developed. The majority of my classmates work in consulting or at banks, but this doesn’t give you the opportunity to learn new things the way entrepreneurship does. Entrepreneurship is, of course, always a risk. Many people say that they work in consulting for a few years before starting their own projects, but I decided to do things differently. I was able to hedge my risks by partnering with two incredible girls who are older and more experienced than I am.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

How do you complement one another and what are your functions in the project?

The girls have valuable hands-on experience. I don’t have any children yet, but they have four altogether, and one of them holds the title of Best Mother of Moscow and has written different articles on motherhood and childhood education. We opened our first centre in Bauman Garden in 2013, and we opened another two last year – one in the southwest of Moscow on Akademika Pilyugina Street and the other just outside of Moscow. We try to share responsibilities equally. I handle marketing, work with partners, develop the centre on Akademika Pilyugina, and hire personnel. We have around 50 employees at the three centres.

Are these your direct duties?

 

5–10 thousand roubles

is how much parents are willing to spend on their child's development each month out of their 30,000-40,000 rouble salaries

Source: CitYkids

 

The company is not very large, so I can’t really say anything about a clearly formed structure of responsibilities. We have staff with a specific set of duties, but people often end up rolling up their sleeves and doing a lot of different things independently. For example, at last year’s Start Up Festival for preschool education at Moscow’s Central House of Artists, I had to bring all the materials myself to decorate our stand, organise round tables, etc. But my efforts paid off – we won the prize for Best Location of 2014.

The main thing with our work is the connection between effort and results. You might change something and improve it today, but you see progress tomorrow in increased revenues or just the smile on children’s faces.

What professional skills help resolve management issues?

I of course don’t need any insane financial formulas in my work, but having a working knowledge of budgets and accounting helps a lot. ICEF taught me how to get things done on time, which is crucial for an entrepreneur. HSE students are ambitious, driven, active, and organized. They are able to do well in school, participate in sports, and express their creativity. This is how we live now as well.

Why did you nonetheless decide against a career in banking, given your academic achievements and active participation in university life?

The majority of my classmates go into banking and consulting. When I was making a final decision on whether or not to find a job at a bank, I knew that all of ICEF was already working in offices. Getting a job in your field is easy after graduating from HSE. But how can you find motivation if it’s hard to see your contribution to the whole? And if you’re just a small part of a big corporation, then you’re not used to sensing your own value and use, while this is the very thing that motivates the majority of happy people. I need to do my own thing to feel my own personal fulfilment. Having your own business is a daily source of motivation. Of course, many graduates are frightened of this, however. Starting is the scary part.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

What makes your business competitive on the children’s services market?

The children’s services market is in a phase of growth, as many private kindergartens, centres, and studios are opening up. CitYkids is different because it has programmes for new-borns and carries out events for the entire family. This is why we are positioning ourselves as ‘family centres’ with creativity, music, dance, art therapy, meetings for fathers, and bachelorette parties. On weekends, we also have family concerts and plays. Just a few years ago, Moscow didn’t have a single location that a young mother could take her new-born to. We dreamed of our centres being a place for mothers and fathers, a place where they could learn to ‘enjoy’ being a parent. We have everything for this – playrooms with playpens and rocking chairs, changing tables, soft beanbag chairs for naptime, free diapers, everything for feeding, and much more. But this is daily life. The most important thing is that we use the unique British method for early development called Baby Sensory, which has proven successful in 27 countries around the world, including the U.S., United Arab Emirates, China, European countries, and others. It is built around sensory development starting from birth and has been used with babies as young as three days old, a record. We have had parents bring in their ten-day old babies as well. We have fully adapted and translated the methodology into Russian, including musical materials. In a typical class, mothers bring their children to group lessons, and everything is accompanied by music, scents, and tactile sensations. This is fun for not only the child, but the mother as well, as everything is aimed at high-quality amusement focused on the baby’s all-around development.

Word of mouth works best in our business. Analysis has confirmed that when asked where they heard about us, people always respond: from friends.

What are the advantages of the Baby Sensory method?

A baby’s brain doubles in its first year, as this is when all key neuron connections are built. This is why it is so important to stimulate a child’s mind using various impulses: sound, light, taste, smell, etc. Baby Sensory includes more than 100 different colourful activities aimed at developing babies’ senses, which is so important in their first year. The methodology is also good because of its versatility. All classes and lesson plans are clearly outlined, and even if an instructor is sick, the learning process goes uninterrupted. Baby Sensory instructors study in London, and I went through an intensive training myself, after which you are monitored to see how you conduct lessons. Lesson plans are observed right up to how games and props are placed for each activity. We also brought equipment sets from England that are produced specifically for the Baby Sensory method.

Are mothers quick to trust this new method?

We are the first in Russia, so the Baby Sensory method is not yet known to all of our moms and isn’t as popular as the well-known Montessori Method. But it’s not hard to convince people of Baby Sensory’s benefits after seeing it in action. The methodology is rapidly gaining popularity in Russia, and we are selling franchises so that other entrepreneurs can create locations for these methods. We sold two franchises in Moscow in a matter of a few months, and the Baby Sensory method might arise in other cities around Russia as well.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

And what do you do about so-called ‘mobile mothers,’ who go back to work just a few weeks after having a baby?

From the very beginning, we thought about developing both a family-focused business direction and a corporate-focused one. The corporate division is still being developed, and we are in talks with a number of large companies such as Philips, Unilever, SAP, and others. Corporations in Europe always have children’s rooms and kindergartens for employees’ kids, and we want to bring this setup to Russia as well.

How do you attract clients to your centres?

We market locally using forums and websites for moms. We also talk to journalists, participate in exhibitions and forums, and go to parks in the summer. In 2012, for instance, we held the festival Family in the City at Bauman Garden. But despite all of these efforts, word of mouth works best in our business. Analysis has confirmed that when asked where they heard about us, people always respond: from friends.

At HSE you worked closely with the charity ICEF Outreach. Are you able to find time for charity work now?

At ICEF Outreach, I talked a lot with kids from orphanages, and aside from social work I realized I had a need to work and communicate with children. I am now able to fulfill my love for kids through CitYkids as well. I’m also in ongoing contact with several kids from orphanages and with the heads of charitable organizations.

Other ‘Success Builder’ Stories

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

 

Екатерина Фролова

Одна из основательниц сети детских центров CitYkids.

Окончила НИУ ВШЭ МИЭФ в 2012 году с красным дипломом, получила премию «Лучший выпускник 2012». Активный участник студенческой жизни в ВШЭ, Член Ингруп СТС, председатель академстудсовета МИЭФ, руководитель и участник благотворительной организации ICEF — Outreach.

В 2011 году прошла стажировку в бизнес-школе «SKOLKOVO», а в 2012 поступила в Imperial College Business School в Лондон по специальности «менеджмент», получила диплом с отличием. В 2013 году стала одним из основателей компании CitYkids — cемейных досуговых центров с уникальной методикой развития малышей с рождения.

«Собственное дело дает мотивацию каждый день»

Конструктор успеха


О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

Начать свое дело — хорошо, но очень страшно, особенно когда у тебя красный диплом и блестящее будущее в сфере финансов. В рубрике «Конструктор успеха» выпускникца МИЭФ, создатель детских центров CitYkids Екатерина Фролова рассказала, почему креслу банковского клерка предпочла грудничков, как обеспечить молодым мамам досуг и что движет счастливыми людьми.

Как случилось так, что с красным дипломом Вышки вы занимаетесь младенцами?

Большинство женщин на определенном этапе своей карьеры бросают все, чтобы «заняться младенцами», и никого это не удивляет. Отличие только в том, что я занимаюсь чужими младенцами. А если серьезно, мне всегда хотелось реализовать какую-то детскую тему: моя мама — педиатр, в школе я тоже хотела быть детским врачом, но она отговорила.

Когда я принимала финальное решение — идти в банк или не идти, я знала, что весь МИЭФ уже сидит в офисных креслах. Устроиться по специальности после Вышки легко.

Я поступила в Вышку в МИЭФ, потому что считаю базовые навыки менеджера-экономиста необходимыми на любой работе, тем более предпринимательской. Для меня выбор в пользу собственного бизнеса CitYkids — это не только возможность работать с детьми, а способ заниматься множеством разных вещей одновременно, руководить коллективом, развивать предприятие так, как я считаю нужным. Большинство моих однокурсников работает в банках или консалтинге, но таких возможностей узнавать новое, как в предпринимательстве там, увы, нет. Конечно, предпринимательство — это всегда риск. Многие говорят, что поработают в консалтинге пару-тройку лет, а уже потом сделают свой проект, а я решила поступить иначе, способом хеджировать риски для меня стала работа вместе с партнерами — двумя замечательными девушками, которые старше и опытнее меня.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Чем вы дополнили друг друга, и какова ваша функция в проекте?

У девушек есть бесценный практический опыт. У меня пока нет детей, но у них на двоих — четверо, а одна из них носит титул «Лучшая мама Москвы», пишет различные статьи о материнстве и детском образовании. Первый центр мы открыли в Саду им. Баумана в 2013 году. В прошлом году открыли еще два: один на Юго-Западе Москвы (ул. Академика Пилюгина, д 6.), а другой в Подмосковье. Мы стараемся делить обязанности поровну: я занимаюсь маркетингом, работой с партнерами, развитием центра на Юго-Западе, нанимаю персонал — у нас около 50 сотрудников на три центра.

Это ваши прямые обязанности?

 

5–10 тыс. руб.

в месяц готовы тратить родители на развитие ребенка при доходе семьи 30–40 тыс. руб.

Источник: CitYkids

 

Компания небольшая, поэтому нельзя говорить о четко сформировавшейся структуре обязанностей. У нас есть сотрудники с определенным функционалом, но все равно частенько приходится делать многие вещи самостоятельно, как говорится, работать «засучив рукава». Например, в прошлом году на Фестивале дошкольного образования «Старт-АП» в ЦДХ мне пришлось самой привезти реквизит, декорировать стенд, организовать круглые столы и пр. Но усилия окупились — мы получили премию за «Лучшее место 2014».

В нашей работе главное — это связь между усилиями и результатом. Сегодня ты что-то поменял, улучшил, а завтра видишь прогресс: рост выручки или просто улыбки довольных детей.

Какие профессиональные навыки помогают решать вопросы управления?

Конечно, безумные финансовые формулы мне в работе не нужны, но умение работать с бюджетами и бухгалтерией очень помогает. МИЭФ научил меня все успевать — для предпринимателя это необходимо. Студенты Вышки — амбициозные, целеустремленные, активные и организованные — успевали хорошо учиться, заниматься спортом, творчеством. Так живем и теперь.

Почему вы все же не стали работать в банковской системе с такими достижениями в учебе и активным участием в жизни университета?

Большинство моих однокурсников идут в банки и консалтинг: когда я принимала финальное решение — идти в банк или не идти, я знала, что весь МИЭФ уже сидит в офисных креслах. Устроиться по специальности после Вышки легко. Но как мотивировать себя, если свой вклад в общее дело сложно увидеть? И если вокруг большая корпорация, а ты винтик — то ощущение собственной пользы тебе не знакомо, тогда как именно оно движет большинством счастливых людей. Мне для самореализации нужно свое. Собственное дело дает мотивацию каждый день. Конечно, многих выпускников это отпугивает — очень страшно начать.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Что делает ваш бизнес конкурентоспособным на рынке детских услуг?

Рынок детских услуг находится в растущей фазе — появляется много частных садов, центров, студий. CitYkids отличается тем, что здесь применяются программы для детей прямо с рождения и проводятся мероприятия для всей семьи (поэтому мы и позиционируем себя как «Семейные центры»): творчество, музыка, танцы, арт-терапия, встречи пап, девичники, а по выходным семейные концерты и спектакли. Еще пару лет назад в Москве не было ни одного места, куда можно было бы пойти молодой маме с новорожденным. Мы мечтали, чтобы наши центры стали для мамочек и папочек местом, где они могли бы учиться «получать удовольствие» от родительства. У нас есть для этого все: игровые комнаты с манежем и качалкой (для самых маленьких), есть пеленальные столики, мягкие пуфы для сна, бесплатные памперсы и пеленки, всё для кормления и т.д. Но это быт. А главное — у нас есть уникальная британская методика раннего развития Baby Sensory, которая работает с успехом в 27 странах мира — в Европе, США, Эмиратах, Китае и т. д. Она построена на сенсорном развитии детей с рождения — рекорд начала занятий составляет три дня от рождения. У нас заниматься приходили с 10-го дня. Мы полностью адаптировали и перевели методику на русский, включая музыкальные материалы. Занятие проходит так: мамочки приходят на групповое занятие с детьми — все сопровождается музыкой, запахами, тактильными ощущениями. И это фан не только для ребенка, но и для мамы — все направлено на качественное времяпрепровождение с огромной пользой для гармоничного развития малыша.

Лучше всего в нашем бизнесе работает сарафанное радио. Аналитика подтверждает, что на вопрос «Откуда вы о нас узнали» всегда отвечают: от друзей.

В чем преимущества методики Baby Sensory?

Мозг ребенка в течение первого года жизни увеличивается вдвое, все основные нейронные связи строятся именно тогда — поэтому так важно стимулировать детский мозг различными импульсами: звук, цвет, вкус, запах и т. д. Baby Sensory включает в себя более 100 различных красочных активностей, направленных на развитие органов чувств малышей, что так важно в первый год жизни. Методика также хороша своей универсальностью — все занятия и планы уроков четко прописаны, и даже если заболел педагог, процесс обучения не прерывается. Преподаватели Baby Sensory обучаются в Лондоне, я и сама проходила интенсивный тренинг, после которого тебя курируют и следят за тем, как ты ведешь занятия. План уроков соблюдается детально вплоть до расположения игрушек и реквизита для каждой активности. Из Англии мы привезли комплекты оборудования, которое производится специально для методики Baby Sensory.

Мамы легко доверяются этой новой методике?

Мы первые в России, методика Baby Sensory пока знакома не всем нашим мамам и не так популярна, как всем известная методика Монтессори. Но убеждать в пользе Baby Sensory несложно после того, как видишь ее в деле. Методика стремительно набирает популярность в России, мы продаем франшизы на создание собственных точек по таким методикам другим предпринимателям. Мы буквально за пару месяцев продали две франшизы в Москве и, возможно, скоро методика Baby Sensory появится в других городах России.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

А как быть с «мобильными мамами», которые через две недели после родов уже на работе?

Мы с самого начала думали развивать и семейное направление бизнеса и корпоративное. Корпоративное направление пока в разработке, мы ведем переговоры с рядом крупных компаний, среди которых такие, как Philips, Unilever, SAP и др. В Европе при корпорации всегда есть детские комнаты и сады для детей сотрудников, мы хотим перенести этот формат и в Россию.

Как вы привлекаете клиентов для ваших центров?

Мы применяем локальный маркетинг через форумы и порталы мам, общаемся с журналистами, участвуем в выставках, форумах, летом приходим в парки, сами в 2012 году провели фестиваль в Саду им. Баумана «Семья в большом городе». Но, несмотря на все эти усилия, лучше всего в нашем бизнесе работает сарафанное радио. Аналитика подтверждает, что на вопрос «Откуда вы о нас узнали» всегда отвечают: от друзей.

В Вышке вы активно работали с благотворительной организацией ICEF Outreach. Находите ли время на благотворительность теперь?

В ICEF Outreach я много общалась с детьми из детских домов, помимо социальной работы я реализовывала свою потребность в общении с детьми, сейчас эта любовь к детям реализуется в том числе и через CitYkids. С некоторыми детьми из детских домов и руководством благотворительных организаций тоже не теряю связи и продолжаю общаться.

Все материалы рубрики